R.I.P. X Challenge

Each year for the past 10 years, in the months of September and October, bloggers all over the world have participated in “R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril” challenge, reading – and blogging about – works of a darker nature. This year, the challenge is hosted by The Estella Society http://www.estellasociety.com/?p=1484

There are several participation levels and, as you might guess, one option from the challenge I’m choosing is “Peril of the Short Story.” I plan to read thirteen selected stories during this period. I also plan to complete the “Peril the Third” option, wherein participants just need to read one qualifying book. I have in mind Stephen Kings “The Dark Half,” which I’ve owned for quite awhile and just haven’t gotten to.


Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman!” er, I mean “R.I.P. meets Deal Me In!” (Almost as epic🙂 ) R.I.P. Banner created by Abigail at http://www.abigaillarson.com

I’m a few days late, but I’ve finally gotten my R.I.P. act together and come up with a short story reading list for this year. As usual, I’m randomizing my reading order by assigning the stories to cards then drawing one card at a time to determine what I’ll read next.

♠A♠ “The Very Strange House Next Door” by Shirley Jackson (from the “Just an Ordinary Day” collection” – read; 4 stars

♠2♠ “The Thousand-and-second Tale of Scheherezade” by Edgar Allan Poe (from “The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe”)   – Read; 3.5 stars.

♠3♠ “Do You Want That in Blonde, Brunette, or Auburn” by Glenn Lewis Gillette (from the Dark Futures anthology) – Read; 3 stars

♠4♠ “Legend of the Engulphed Convent” by Washington Irving – read; 3.5 stars

♠5♠ “The Devil With the Three Golden Hairs” from Grimm’s Fairy Tales (Philip Pullman’s New English Version edition) – read 3 stars

♠6♠ “Mr. Dark’s Carnival” by Glenn Hirshberg (from The Two Sams story collection)

♠7♠ “The Open Window” by Saki (from link at Paula Cappa’s blog) – read; 5 stars

♠8♠ “The Grave of the Famous Poet” by Margaret Atwood (from “Dancing Girls and Other Stories) – read; 4.5 stars

♠9♠ “The Spring Heel” by Steven Pirie (from the Haunted Legends anthology) read; 3.5 stars

♠10♠ “You Are the Blood” by Grady Cole (from the “Tall Tales of the Weird West” anthology) read; 3 stars

♠J♠ “Act of Contrition” by Craig Clevenger (from The New Black anthology) read; 3.5 stars

♠Q♠ “Darling Adolf” by Ray Bradbury (from Bradbury Stories)

♠K♠ “The Hell Screen” by Ryunosuke Akutagawa (from “The Weird” anthology) read; 3 stars

Well, what do you think of my choices this year? Do you see any familiar stories among my thirteen? Are you participating in R.I.P. this year? Last year, I read these for R.I.P.: https://bibliophilica.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/the-r-i-p-challenge/

14 Comments

  1. Paula Cappa said,

    September 6, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    I love these selections, Jay. Some new titles that I’ve not seen before and will add to my list.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 6, 2015 at 2:39 pm

      I gave this a lot of thought. I didn’t want to have any two from the same source either, which took me a little longer. I confess I’ve read one already since I couldn’t wait.🙂

      Like

  2. September 6, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Lots of familiar authors, but I think I’ve only read one story on this list (Glen Hirshberg’s “Mr. Dark’s Carnival”). Which is great because I’ll be introduced to twelve other new stories!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 7:12 am

      I’ve only previously read Hirshberg’s “The Two Sams” (the title story of the collection) – I think for last year’s Deal Me In. Don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get back to him.

      Like

  3. the bookworm said,

    September 6, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    I enjoyed The Dark Half when I read it. Great list, I’m a fan of short stories as well. Happy reading!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 8:29 am

      Thank you. I usually get along pretty well with Mr. King’s books.🙂

      Like

  4. Chris said,

    September 6, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    You’ve got some great short stories in this list. I might have to look up a few of these and read them. Looking forward to seeing what you think of these.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 8:30 am

      Thanks, Chris. I’ve already read one (the Poe story), and it didn’t disappoint.🙂

      Like

  5. tracybham said,

    September 6, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    I look forward to your posts on these short stories. I do have some short stories that would fit this challenge, but as I have lamented before, work is really doing me in lately and I don’t think I can add more to my plate. I do hope to catch up on my short story reading and that some will fit the R.I.P. Challenge.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 7:15 am

      I probably won’t post on them all, but will post on my favorites, of which the Poe story, which I’ve already read now, is one. I like the variety in this group, with each story coming from a different source.

      Like

  6. Alex said,

    September 7, 2015 at 1:07 pm

    I’ve never read any of those stories, but at least recognize quite a few authors! For RIP I’m going to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and The Little Stranger.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 7:17 am

      I hope you share your thoughts on Miss Peregrine’s Home… I’ve been noticing that one here and there for what seems like forever.🙂

      Like

  7. Jason M. said,

    September 7, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    Surprised to not see a “Twilight Zone” short story on the list. I recommend “We Have What You Need” by the writers collectively known as Lewis Padgett. Fabulous story.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2015 at 7:20 am

      I’m familiar with that episode (of course!) but didn’t know about the original story and that it was written by a ‘team’ of writers. I found it online and am bookmarking. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like


Leave a Reply

