A Hoosier-Flavored R.I.P. Challenge

20140919-073118.jpg

I’ve decided to follow the lead of my Deal Me In 2014 comrade, Randall, and participate in the ninth annual R.I.P. (“Readers Imbibing Peril”) Challenge (R.I.P. IX – hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings) this year, in a short story, mini-Deal Me In format. Randall’s initial post for his participation in the challenge may be found here.  I’ve selected thirteen short stories to read before the end of October. At this point, I don’t know if I’ll blog about them individually or in a couple summarized posts. I’ve picked three stories from known or classic authors, but the theme for the remainder of my selections is “authors with an Indiana connection.”

20140919-073126.jpg

Here’s my list of stories for the RIP challenge. As with Deal Me In, I’ll read them in random order via the luck of the draw. Naturally, I’ll be using the spades suit to draw my cards.:-)

20140919-073136.jpg

A. Feeders and Eaters – Neil Gaiman (“The Weird” anthology)
2. The Summer People – Shirley Jackson (“The Weird” anthology) -read 9/19
3. Axolotl – Julio Cortozar (“The Weird” anthology) – read 9/23
4. Strunke City DeRail – Murphy Edwards (Terror Train anthology )
5. Venus Rising from the Foam – James Owens (Indiana Horror 2011 anthology)
6. Crimes in Southern Indiana – Frank Bill (“Crimes in Southern Indiana” story collection) -read 9/22
7. Because You Watched – Paula Ashe (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology)
8. The Hunt – Bret Nye – (Midwestern Gothic magazine volume 6)
9. The Rose Garden – James Ward Kirk (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology)
10. The Hike – Brian Rosenberger (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology)
J. The Old Crone and the Scarecrow – Allen Griffin (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology) – read 9/20
Q. The Shadow Man of Moonspine Bridge – Matt Cowan (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology) -read 9/21
K. The Boy That Created Monsters – Paul DeThroe (Indiana Horror 2011 anthology)

I’ve seen – and even met and talked to few of these writers – at various book events around town in the past year or so, and reading some more of their work should prove interesting.  Are you participating in the R.I.P. Challenge this year??

13 Comments

  1. Paula Cappa said,

    September 19, 2014 at 9:27 am

    Impressive, Jay! I’m especially interested to read The Shadow Man of Moonspine Bridge – Matt Cowan (Indiana Science Fiction/Horror 2012 anthology).

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 19, 2014 at 6:24 pm

      Me too 🙂 I already started reading and am on my second story already…

      Like

  2. Matt Cowan said,

    September 19, 2014 at 9:28 am

    I’m on the list! 🙂

    Like

  3. Bellezza said,

    September 20, 2014 at 9:18 am

    I love how you’re tying the two together. My reading has been most abysmal with the start of school (no extra time for this teacher!), but I’d like to read some spookily stories and maybe even some Japanese knew at that.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 21, 2014 at 10:20 am

      I still haven’t finished Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki yet. Not that I haven’t been enjoying it, I just have so many demands on my time too.

      Like

  4. Bellezza said,

    September 20, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Not “knew”, Japanese “ones”…sorry.

    Like

  5. September 20, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Great plan — and a great twist!

    Like

  6. Melissa said,

    October 4, 2014 at 9:31 am

    I’ve participated in the RIP Challenge for the last few years and I love it! Your Hoosier twist on it is perfect! I might have to steal some of your book ideas for my list next year.

    Like

  7. Paul DeThroe said,

    October 30, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Very honored to have my work included in such a cool reading challenge. What a great idea! I appreciate it very much and hope it gives you at least one good nightmare. 🙂 Thanks- Paul DeThroe

    Like


Leave a Reply

