The White Wolf of the Hartz Mountains by Frederick Marryat

20140412-094039.jpg

“What matters it to us, whether we are tried by, and have to suffer from, the enmity of our fellow-mortals, or whether we are persecuted by beings more powerful and more malevolent than ourselves?”

This week for my 2014 Deal Me In Sort Story Reading Challenge I drew the ten of Diamonds, which I had assigned to the Fredrick Marryat story, “The White Wolf of the Hartz Mountains.” Diamonds are my suit for stories recommended by others, and I first learned of this story via Paula Cappa’s excellent blog and its weekly feature “Tuesday’s Tale of Terror” (see here for her post on this story.

20140412-094052.jpg

(Above: not the rampaging werewolf of this story, but perhaps its equal in gruesome-ness)

This is a werewolf tale, and apparently one of the earliest of that genre. It is contained within an almost (almost!) incidental framing story, where two mariners, “Philip” and “Krantz,” have lost most of their crew and are attempting to sail back to “civilization.” What a perfect opportunity for Krantz to tell his story:

“I take it for granted, that you have heard people speak of the Hartz Mountains,” observed Krantz.
“I have never heard people speak of them, that I can recollect,” replied Philip; “but I have read of them in some book, and of the strange things which have occurred there.”

It seems Krantz is the only surviving member of a small Transylvanian family whose history has been marked by violent death. A family whose father murdered the mother, after catching her in an act of infidelity, then fled north to the Hartz Mountains (Germany) of the story’s title. There they live a harsh and lonely existence that settles into routine until, while hunting one day, the father sees and pursues a white she-wolf. Just as he draws a bead on it and is preparing to fire his rifle, however, it mysteriously disappears. On the way back to the family’s cabin, though, he encounters a man and daughter, half-frozen, looking for shelter which he, naturally, offers.

(Below: a view of the Hartz Mountains)

20140412-094113.jpg

The man tells him that they too are fleeing Transylvania “where my daughter’s honour and my life were equally in jeopardy!” As one might expect, Krantz’s father falls for this young girl (Oh, I forgot to mention that she was beautiful 🙂 ) and they eventually marry. The strange girl’s father, oddly, insists on the vows being exchanged not including the phrase “by heaven” but instead “by all the spirits of the Hartz Mountains.” Reluctantly, the storyteller’s father agrees – but wouldn’t that be a red flag? Anyone?

The beautiful young woman becomes an “evil stepmother” to the storyteller and his siblings. The oldest brother begins to note her strange nocturnal disappearances where, upon returning, she invariably goes to wash herself. What could she be doing out there? Many of these nights of her absence are also marked by the howl of a wolf, seemingly just outside the window of the children. Hmm… Slowly, as the evil deeds of this “woman” mount up, young Krantz’s fear of her transforms: “…but I no longer felt afraid of her; my little heart was full of hatred and revenge.”

Since I’m providing a link to the text of the story, I won’t reveal the additional events that transpire at and around the cabin, but will say that as a result, Krantz lives under a curse. A curse that includes as part of his fate that “His bones will bleach in the wilderness…” Will he escape it, or will it find him even half way across the world. Why not read the story and find out?

Read the book free online here:

The CBS Radio Mystery Theater also produced an audio version of this tale that is available here:

This was the first story I’ve ever read by Fredrick Marryat. I enjoyed the almost fairy tale-like feel that it retained in spite of being somewhat gruesome. It seems that Marryat was something of a Renaissance Man as well, excelling in many fields (he also invented a flag-based signaling system for seagoing vessels and was in command of the ship the brought the news of Napoleon’s death back to Europe). What about you? Have YOU encountered him in any of your reading?

My roster of stories for DMI 2014:

(Below author Fredrick Marryat)

20140412-094122.jpg

11 Comments

  1. April 12, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    I’ve not read any Fredrick Marryat that I know of, but I’m going to have to add him to my ever-growing list. I like these sort of early horror stories, before the now-familiar tropes were in place.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 13, 2014 at 11:18 am

      I totally agree regarding reading the older representatives of a genre. It’s like going directly to the source and “avoiding the middleman.” Not that later efforts are necessarily worse, but rather it’s good to be familiar with the origins as well.

      Like

  2. April 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    I’ve not read Fredrick Marryat, but a radio production of this story sounds like a very good idea to me. I’ve found that going back this far into genre history can be a very mixed bag. While it is fun to see what the roots of this kind of story were, it’s sometimes apparent that certain things get better over time.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 14, 2014 at 12:54 pm

      Agreed/ I did listen to the radio production last night in bed, but fell asleep after only 10 minutes or so. It took a lot of liberties with the original story even in those first ten minutes. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dale said,

    April 13, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    Jay, I’ve never heard of Frederick Marryat, but the title of this story alone makes me want to read it. It’s fun seeing how much things have changed or how much they’ve stayed the same. As I continue making my way through The Count of Monte Cristo, I keep envisioning it as a “Lost” type of television show, today.
    -Dale

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      Hi Dale,
      I agree, and that’s probably why it’s best not to confine oneself to reading just one era or genre.
      -Jay

      Like

  4. April 13, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    This story looks cool and I’ve never come across Marryat before. I’ve got it favourited and will enjoy reading it!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 14, 2014 at 12:56 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Lisa. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  5. nzumel said,

    April 16, 2014 at 3:34 am

    Oooh, new one for me. Thanks!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 16, 2014 at 12:19 pm

      No problem. 🙂 I find a lot of “new ones for me” at Paula Cappa’s blog.

      Like

  6. Hanne, on Cloud 9 said,

    April 16, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    Definitely sounds wrong to vow by ‘all the spirits of the Hartz Mountains’! 🙂

    Like


Leave a comment