It’s My Blogiversary!


Bibliophilopolis is seven years old now! I’ve published 805 posts, and am closing in on 275k page views, having settled down to averaging around 4,000 visits a month and 45-50 thousand a year these past few years.

I’d like to thank all those who have visited or left a comment or “liked”a post (probably like many bloggers, I sometimes wonder if “anyone is reading this” so all communication is welcome!) I wasn’t sure my blogging would last seven DAYS when I first started, but here we are in 2017 and Bibliophilopolis is still plodding along. I’ve also especially enjoyed the emergence of the small but loyal Deal Me In community, and am looking forward to seeing how our new participants fare this year.

As a Blogiversary “Special Offer” (okay, I’m not offering to do anything but read something) I will allow the commenters (if any) on this post the opportunity to pick one of the books I read in 2017 books. Presuming there might be more than one, I reserve the right to pick which recommendation I go with, but may also read more than one if you convince me they’re worth the time. I will also pledge to write a full review post about whichever book “wins” giving full credit – or blame! ๐Ÿ™‚ – to its recommender.

So, recommend away. I’ll probably make my decision after a week or so.

Happy reading to all in 2017!

19 Comments

  1. Jason said,

    January 2, 2017 at 4:53 pm

    Congrats Jay! Your blog is amazing and the ‘Deal Me in Challenge’ is my absolute favorite reading challenge, ever. I am still working on my new list for 2017 and will post the link on the sign-up page soon!

    My recommendation: Herzog by Saul Bellow.

    Keep up the great work and here’s to another great year blogging! *cheers*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jay said,

    January 2, 2017 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks, Jason for the kind words and the recommendations. And – That was a great “4th Quarter Comeback” you pulled off to finish off your 2016 DMI list! I look forward to following your progress in the new year.

    Like

  3. Paula Cappa said,

    January 2, 2017 at 5:38 pm

    Wow, those are great stats, Jay! Keep the success going for 2017. Happy New Year. I am looking forward to some wonderful titles here.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 2, 2017 at 5:47 pm

      Thanks, Paula! And your recommendation…? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Megan McKeever said,

    January 2, 2017 at 7:39 pm

    Congrats, Jay! My book recommendation is not like your usual fare, but it was one of my favorites that I read last year. It’s The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, the first of a planned series of 10 fantasy books, the first two of which are already published. We read it for my work book club and all of us loved it, with most of us moving on to read the second one, despite the fact that they’re both over 1000 pages. So good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 3, 2017 at 8:02 am

      Thanks, Megan, and great to hear from you! I will take that book under consideration, though the page count IS somewhat daunting. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a work book I club too, but we only read short stories or essays (the ability to read the workinunder one hour is a requirement). They’d run from a thousand page book in horror… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Dale said,

    January 2, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Happy Blogiversary, Jay! Thanks for the added enrichment to my reading over the years. Since we are on the subject over at my blog, I will recommend William Faulkner’s The Sound and The Fury. If you do pick this novel (and believe me, I understand if you don’t), I will read it, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 3, 2017 at 8:04 am

      Thanks, Dale, and thanks for the recommendation. I suspect I have been enriched just as much – likely more – from reading your excellent blog. I will definitely read at least some Faulkner in 2017, so TSatF may be one of them. Here’s to another great year of reading and Deal Me In!
      -Jay

      Like

  6. DebraB said,

    January 2, 2017 at 10:58 pm

    Congratulations on your blogversary! You have some impressive staying power. I enjoy your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 3, 2017 at 8:05 am

      Thanks so much, Debra! Happy to have you as a reader. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. poseidons99 said,

    January 3, 2017 at 9:56 am

    Happy blog birthday! (:
    Although I haven’t finished neither I would recommend S. by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst and Ship of Theseus by V. M. Straka ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 3, 2017 at 10:08 am

      Thank you! And thanks for the recommendations. I’m off to look them up on goodreads.com now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. Bev Hankins said,

    January 4, 2017 at 11:04 pm

    Happy Blogversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. January 5, 2017 at 6:16 am

    Happy Bloggiversary! A great achievement! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 5, 2017 at 8:42 am

      Thanks, o! I’m glad the last couple years have included interaction with the Behold The Stars blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. hkatz said,

    January 7, 2017 at 11:25 pm

    Congratulations! I’m happy your blog is here enriching the literary blogosphere. And I’m glad I finally signed up for Deal Me In this year ๐Ÿ™‚

    Book rec… I’ll just give you the first one that popped into my head for whatever reason, but it’s a great book: Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      January 9, 2017 at 9:40 am

      Thanks, hkatz! I’m glad you signed up for Deal Me In too! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think we have a record number of participants this year.

      THanks for the recommendation as well. I’ve heard of that book but have never read it. I guess I’ll have to make my decision on which of these to read soon… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  11. Jay said,

    January 12, 2017 at 9:19 am

    Update: Thanks for all the great suggestions. I’ve added them to my “want to read” list on goodreads.com. The one that intrigues me the most is “S” by J.J. Abrams, so it is the “winner” & I will be giving that one a try in 2017. I reserve the right to read several of the others as well, especially, The Sound and the Fury, which I was unofficially planning to read anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like


Leave a Reply

