Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Authors Read for the First Time in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a vastly popular weekly meme sponsored by the good folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s assignment: Top Ten “new to us” authors  we read for the first time in 2016.  I’m all about discovering new authors so this seemed like a perfect week to  participate. 🙂

toptentuesday

I have a mix of old and new; in no particular order, here goes:

 

10. Ernie Pyle – famous *Hoosier* war correspondent in World War Two. I’ve read several entries in his book “Final Chapter” and also bought another book of his (Home Front) and have ordered a biography on him too. I must like him.

img_6711

9. Susan Wallace – wife of General Lew Wallace, who you may of heard of, she wrote the book “The Storied Sea,” which I read and enjoyed in hopes of attending a book club meeting but sadly couldn’t make it when the date came around.

old-sue

8. Paul Beatty – My awesomely named “Book Club II: Son of Book Club” read his book “The Sellout”this year. Confirming our gift for being trendsetters, it later was awarded the Man Booker Prize. 🙂

paul beatty.jpg

7. Lu Cixin – His “The Three Body Problem” was also read by the same Book Club as #8. This was our first book read after we reformed following a long hiatus. It was picked because I lost a bet on a football game to the person who was the instigator of our reforming. The winner of the bet got to impose a reading assignment to the loser, so he also made it our book club’s choice. It was one of my favorite books of the year! Almost sounds like I got off easy with that bet…

three body.jpg

6. Meredith Nicholson – a writer from “The Golden Age” of Indiana literature, I found his novel “The House of a Thousand Candles” a real delight. So much so that I bought and read a biography of him a month later.

MeredithNicholsonCover.jpg

5. Sarah Layden – Another local author who I’ve also had the good fortune of meeting a few times at local events. Her book “Trip Through Your Wires,” which I read back in February, is getting some great reviews.

tripthroughyourwires-web

4. Maurice Thompson – another author from Indiana’s “Golden Age” he may be my favorite discovery this year. I’m working my way through his collection of stories titled “Hoosier Mosaics”

hoosier-mosaics

3. James Baldwin – technically not totally new to me, as I had read a short story by him, but I finally got around to reading his famous “Go Tell it On the Mountain” and was quite impressed.

baldwin.jpg

2. Lauren Ann Bolton – I read a story of hers from Butler University’s “Booth” literary journal and it (“The Man in Carnivorous Plants”) was one of the stories that made me think the most this year. Always a plus for me. Sorry, couldn’t find a pic in my cursory search.

1. Mark Haddon – I finally got around to his famous novel, “The Curious Incident of the Dog N the Night-time” last month for another book club. It led to one of my favorite discussions we’ve ever had with that group.

Mark_Haddon_14092.jpg
Well, those are some of my favorite new to me Authors discovered in 2016. What are yours? I’m working on my reading plans for 2017 now, so suggestions would be most welcome. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    December 7, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    I read Go Tell It On the Mountain a few years ago and really enjoyed it. I liked Baldwin’s short story “Sonny’s Blues”, too. I’ve been meaning to read more of his work but haven’t gotten around to it.

    I read Curious Incident prior to blogging. I never discussed the book, though. Glad you had a good discussion about it.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 8, 2016 at 9:41 am

      Sonny’s Blues is the short story of his that I’ve read also. I thought it was a great story.

      That book club (it’s the one that meets at The Rathskeller) has provided a lot of great discussions over the past couple years I’ve been going to it. I’m really glad I ‘discovered’ it on Meetup.com.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

