R.I.P. X – Peril of the Short Story – Updates

R.I.P. Meets Deal Me In!

IMG_6200-0

I’ve completed a bunch of additional stories from my R.I.P. list and only have two to go. Here is my original post and list. Here is my last update. Some brief thoughts on the new ones I’ve finished:

♠7♠ “The Open Window” by Saki (from link at Paula Cappa’s blog) – 5 stars. Easily my favorite so far. Saki manages to pull off an amazing prank with his protagonist – and maybe even us, the reader – as the victim. Read it online at http://www.eastoftheweb.com/short-stories/UBooks/OpeWin.shtml

Hector_Hugh_Munro_aka_Saki,_by_E_O_Hoppe,_1913

Above: Hector Hugh Munro – a.k.a. “Saki” (I always thought he looked like Peter Lorre)

♠K♠ “The Hell Screen” by Ryunosuke Akutagawa (from “The Weird” anthology) – 3 stars. I expected a lot more from this one, as it is so highly acclaimed, but in the end I was disappointed. A half-(or more!) mad artist can only paint things that he has seen with his own eyes is commissioned by the prince to paint a vision of hell.

hell screen

Above: Not exactly the hell screen described in this story, but still quite infernal

♠J♠ “Act of Contrition” by Craig Clevenger (from The New Black anthology) – 4 stars. I didn’t like this one immediately, but I kept thinking about it and it keeps growing on me. Clevenger makes you think about just what is it that causes one to become a prophet. The New Black anthology strikes again!

♠A♠ “The Very Strange House Next Door” by Shirley Jackson (from the “Just an Ordinary Day” collection” – 4 stars. Shirley Jackson hasn’t failed me yet. This was a humorous rather than creepy story, though there are supernatural elements, narrated by a woman who claims she “can’t stand gossip” but then goes on to tell the entire story in the most gossip-y way you could imagine.

dark futures

♠3♠ “Do You Want That in Blonde, Brunette, or Auburn” by Glenn Lewis Gillette (from the Dark Futures anthology) – 3 stars. This one kind of reminded me of that twilight zone episode where a convicted man sentenced to solitary confinement on an asteroid or uninhabited planet (they must have had quite a surplus of those in that universe if they’re using them for jail cells!) and is delivered a robotic “mate” since the powers that be have decided that his solitude is “cruel and unusual.” In this story, the protagonist is The Last Man on Earth and is visited by extra-terrestrial “salesmen.”

Above: Jack Warden takes on robotic Jean Marsh in the Twilight Zone episode “The Lonely” – a classic!

atwood dancing girls

♠8♠ “The Grave of the Famous Poet” by Margaret Atwood (from “Dancing Girls and Other Stories) – 4.5 stars. A pretty strong story from one of my favorite writers. Not really a horror story but so “dark” it made me want to turn on all the lights in the house. Atwood relates the tale of what, to most, would seem to be a couple’s rather mundane existence. What lies beneath the exterior, however, are the kinds of things you might suspect of some but hope aren’t true.

How’s R.I.P. X going for you this year?

2 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    October 27, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    Saki! I keep forgetting about him! Maybe I need to do a Saki week sometime.

    I am also thinking about what author I want to feature as my Annual Featured Author in 2016. Because my DMI 2016 List, though not set in stone yet, seems to shaping up with a low number of female authors, I thought about either Margaret Atwood or Alice Munro as my annual author.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 28, 2015 at 6:45 am

      I have a whole book (still largely unexplored) of Saki stories. I should add a couple to next year’s reading plans too. I think both Atwood and Munro would be great choices for AA at MwC. Atwood’s short stories, in my experience, seem to be a little longer so maybe Munro would be my “practical pick” between those two.

      I haven’t thought to much about my 2016 roster yet. Ihave pretty much decided to switch to monthly wrap up post, maybe where participants can link to their stories if I can figure out how to do that.🙂

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

