A “Challenging” Weekend Ahead!

I learned via Katherine’s blog (The Writerly Reader) of a new to me challenge coming up this weekend. It’s called the 24in48 Readathon (see http://24in48.com). It’s kind of a less hard-core version of Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon. In this one, participants are given 48 hours on the clock to get their 24 hours of reading done. Ah, SLEEP is possible!🙂

My plan, though, is not necessarily to log 24 hours of reading, but to complete twenty-four selected short stories. AND, as host of the Annual Deal Me In short story reading challenge, I feel I should assign the stories to the 24 playing cards (drawing them one at a time to randomize my reading order) in a euchre deck. (Euchre is a very popular card game in the U.S. Midwest and Canada, but if you’re not familiar with the rules and are interested, look here)

I plan to write a few posts with very brief summaries of the stories and how I rate them. I think I will count my post-writing time toward my 24 hours too (although this may be bending the rules!) Maybe I’ll write one post for each “hand” of five cards that I deal and one for “the widow” (the remaining four “unused” cards in a hand of euchre)

Here are the stories I’ve chosen for #24in48

Spades – stories by Edgar Allan Poe

J – The Angel of the Odd

A – The Domain of Arnheim

K – The Imp of the Perverse

Q – Tale of the Ragged Mountains

10 – The Power of Words

9 -Ligeia

Clubs – Margaret Atwood (the remaining six stories I haven’t read from Stone Mattress)

J – Lupus Naturae

A – The Freeze-Dried Groom

K – I Dream of Zenia with the Bright Red Teeth

Q – The dead Hand loves You

10 – Stone Mattress

9 – Torching the Dusties

Hearts – A miscellany of stories I want to read

J – The Beauties (Anton Chekhov)

A – the Enchanted Island (Washington Irving)

K – The Story of the Young Man with the Cream Tarts (Robert Louis Stevenson)

Q – Math Bending Unto Angels (Katherine Vaz)

10 – Micromegas (Voltaire)

9 – Free Radicals (Alice Munro)

Weird-1_B2

Diamonds – Stories from The Weird compendium:

J – Casting the Runes (M.R. James)

A – The Tarn  (Hugh Walpole)

K – The Brood (Ramsey Campbell)

Q – Blood Child (Octavia Butler)

10 – In the Hills, the Cities (Clive Barker)

9 – Family (Joyce Carol Oates)

What do you think of my plan and my story selections? I should mention as well that you are completely free to join me in this challenge.🙂 Wish Me luck!

6 Comments

  1. July 8, 2015 at 9:20 am

    So much Poe and other weirdness. Good plan.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jason M. said,

    July 9, 2015 at 10:38 am

    Wow, this sounds like an absolutely perfect weekend project. You should certainly have no trouble finishing. The idea is inspirational, although I doubt I have the attention span to take part…

    Like

    • Jay said,

      July 9, 2015 at 11:23 am

      I’m really itching to get started.🙂 The problem I ran into with ‘readathons’ in the past was I’d get stuck reading a book that was a bit of a slog and stubbornly wouldn’t switch (it’s not in my nature to quit). With short stories, you just have to tough it out for a few pages and move on to the next one.

      Like

  3. July 12, 2015 at 7:12 am

    I grew up in Michigan, but have lived in Virginia for seven years, so I love seeing the reference to euchre. Stone Mattress was one of my favorite collections last year and you have some of the best stories left on your list – enjoy!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      July 12, 2015 at 7:16 am

      Thanks! I only have the story “I Dream of Zenia…” Left from Stone Mattress, no it’s the one I was most looking forward to since I enjoyed The Robber Bride so much a couple years back. Atwood is amazing!

      Like


Leave a Reply

