“Dial Tone” by Benjamin Percy

This is my twelfth short story read for my annual Deal Me In Short Story Reading Challenge.  I drew the ten of spades from my short story deck  , which I had assinged to this story from the anthology “The New Black,” a collection of noir stories I first first heard of at Paula Cappa’s blog

Sometimes, when I go to work for yet another eight-hour shift or when I visit my parents for yet another casserole dinner, I want to be alone more than anything in the world. But once I’m alone, I feel I can’t stand another second of it. Everything is mixed up. This is why I pick up the phone sometimes and listen. There is something reassuring about a dial tone. That simple sound, a low purr, as constant and predictable as the sun’s path across the sky.”

Benjamin Percy’s story “Dial Tone,” features a troubled narrator, one who works a monotonous and soul-sucking job as a telemarketer. A job that sometimes leads him to a point of self-loathing that I’ve always thought telemarketers HAVE to feel. This narrator (not named, though he refers to himself as “C-5” – his location in the “vast hive of cubicles” at work) is self-aware enough to realize he is close to “losing it” but he doesn’t change jobs, even though employee turnover at his company is about as high as one would expect.

“A jogger spotted the body hanging from the cell tower.” This was actually the first sentence of the story, and with an intro like that, the reader knows right away that this tale will not be a pleasant one, and it certainly isn’t. Where it gets you (or me at least), though, isn’t through raw violence, but an insidious evil that may be present anywhere, waiting to seize and control us at an opportune moment.

At one point, when looking from a elevated vantage point on highway traffic below, he muses that he:

“…could see the chains of light on Route 97 and Highway 100, each bright link belonging to a machine that carried inside it a man who could lose control in an instant, distracted by the radio or startled by a deer or overwhelmed by tiredness, careening off the asphalt and into the surrounding woods. It could happen to anyone.”

Has it happened to him?

You can actually read this story online (at least as of this posting) at https://muse.jhu.edu/journals/missouri_review/v030/30.2percy01.html

(Above: Author Benjamin Percy; picture from goodreads.com)

 

8 Comments

  1. Paula Cappa said,

    March 20, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    This anthology has 20 5-star reviews on Amazon. Quite good writing going on here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      March 20, 2015 at 6:40 pm

      I was really impressed with this story. I think I have a couple more in my 2015 deck…

      Like

  2. tracybham said,

    March 22, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    Sounds like an interesting anthology. Maybe darker than I usually like, but interesting.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 23, 2015 at 7:22 am

      It came highly recommended, and I had heard of – and liked – at least a couple of the authors so I took the plunge and bought it.🙂

      Like

  3. Alex said,

    March 23, 2015 at 7:13 am

    Insidious evil is much worst than outright violence, in reality or fiction. I’m still on track with this challenge, only haven’t published anything yet. The best stories so far are the ones I got from a Southern Lit anthology.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay said,

      March 23, 2015 at 7:21 am

      Totally agree and you are correct to point out that holds true in REALITY as well as fiction. Glad to hear you are still doing the challenge. The first year I did it (solo) I let it lay fallow several times during the year,but since then I’ve gotten into the weekly habit of reading them saturday or Sunday mornings, even if Idont blog about every one of them.🙂

      Like

  4. Dale said,

    March 24, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    This author sounds and looks familiar but I don’t think I’ve read anything by him. That might need to change. Speaking of evil and violence, I am finishing up my sixth Joyce Carol Oates story for my short story adhoc week – which was going to be this week, but I think will be next week.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 25, 2015 at 7:24 am

      Hi Dale,
      I’ll look forward to your upcoming JCO posts. Which source or sources did you use for your stories?

      “Dial Tone” was one of the most thought-provoking stories I’ve drawn so far this year.
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

