Deal Me In 2015 – Week 6 Wrap Up

2015/02/img_39191.jpg

Below are links to new Deal Me In posts since the last wrap up. Most of us are on week six (some of us – including your host [cough, cough] – are temporarily behind…)

Randall at Time Enough at last posts about Ethan Canin’s “Star Food” http://timeenuf.blogspot.com/2015/02/deal-me-in-week-6-star-food-by-ethan.html

Katherine at The Writerly Reader reads a story of one of the masters: Leo Tolstoy’s “God Sees the Truth but Waits” https://katenread.wordpress.com/2015/02/07/deal-me-in-week-6-god-sees-the-truth-but-waits/

John-Paul at The Reader Regards Himself shares Mark Jacobson’s “From Beyond the Grave” http://readerregards.blogspot.co.nz/2015/02/the-voice-from-beyond-grave-mark.html

Marian at Tanglewood covers two stories this week: Edgar Allen Poe’s “The Mystery of Marie Roget” and Nathaniel Hawthorne’s “The Old Manse.” Find her post at http://tangle-wood.blogspot.com/2015/02/4-mystery-of-marie-roget-the-old-manse.html

Dale at Mirror with Clouds read “Paul’s Case” by Willa Cather https://mirrorwithclouds.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/willa-cather-pauls-case/

Jen at Military History – “on assignment” last week at the Harry Potter convention/celebration/experience – catches up with two posts, one on “Encirclement” by Tamas Dobozyhttps://wisepursuits.wordpress.com/2015/02/07/deal-me-in-week-5-the-encirclement-by-tamas-dobozy/ and “England” by Edward John moreton Draxx Plunkett (Lord Dunstan) https://wisepursuits.wordpress.com/2015/02/07/deal-me-in-2015-week-6-england/

James at James Reads Books compares two essays this week Joan Didion’s “Marrying Absurd” and H.L. Mencken’s “On Ambrose Bierce” http://jamesreadsbooks.com/2015/02/02/h-l-mencken-vs-joan-didion-a-deal-me-in-short-story-non-fiction-edition/

Cleo at Classical Carouael read Juan de la Cruz’s poem “Song II: The Dark Night” http://cleoclassical.blogspot.ca/2015/02/song-ii-dark-night-by-san-juan-de-la.html

Juliana at Cedar Station posted about two stories Herman Melville’s “The Lightning Rod Man” and Ray Bradbury’s “A Sound of Thunder” https://cedarstation.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/deal-me-in-weeks-4-5-the-lightning-rod-man-by-herman-melville-and-a-sound-of-thunder-by-ray-bradbury/

“o” at Behold the Stars has I think set the record for the most “ancient” work ever covered in Deal Me In as she tackles “The Frogs” by Aristophanes http://beholdthestars.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/the-frogs-by-aristophanes.html

I posted about Alice Munro’s “Some Women” (actually my week five story) https://bibliophilica.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/some-women-by-alice-munro/

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: