My Deal Me In 2015 Roster

20141216-074025.jpg I have come up with my unofficial (subject to minor tweaking) list of short stories to read for Deal Me In 2015. The “official” announcement for the challenge will be on 12/21 (SHORTest day of the year🙂 ) but I’m so excited about my list I thought I’d share it here now. I think I have a really good mix this year. I stuck with leaving the hearts suit as exclusive to women authors and included five of whom I haven’t read previously to mix in with some established favorites from last year (Vaz & Gay) and before. For spades – usually reserved for “darker” stories – I’ve shared that suit to include some authors and stories that have been recommended by others. As with other suits, I’ve tried to include some authors with a local connection (e.g. Bill, Sizemore, and Green). I’ve also included some stories from an intriguing anthology, “The New Black” which promise to be “suit”able members of the spades division.

20141216-073843.jpg

I’m perhaps most excited about the diamonds suit. These are the twelve short stories that were included in a local project, “Indy Writes Books,” for which Bibliophiloplis was a “First Edition Sponsor” (we’re listed as such in the book and, due to the vagaries of alphabetizing, at the top of the list to boot!).

cover

Naturally these stories have a local flavor as well.  That leaves clubs, which was my favorite suit last year when I dedicated it to Russian authors. This year, I’m bringing in more heavy hitters, with a all-star cast of authors and stories from the archives of The New Yorker magazine. Time for my digital subscription to start earning its keep!🙂 I left deuces wild this year again and have some ideas for stories to fill those slots, but I’m also happy to be guided if anyone has any recommendations.

Deal Me In 2015 story roster

HEARTS (female authors)

A – The Journey of the Eyeball – Katherine Vaz (week 16)

2 – Wild Card – Revenant – Margaret Atwood (week 26)

3 – The Familiar – Michaela Morrissette (week 41)

4 – How – Roxane Gay (week 23)

5 – The Magic of the Loons – Paula Cappa (week 38)

6 – On the Corner of Clerk Street – Rebecca Emin (week 11)

image(This will be the third year in a row that I’ve included a story from “A Knowing Look”)

7 – The Warmth of Midwinter – Marian Allen (week 10)

8 – Fallen Idols – Andrea Smith (week 24)

9 – The Art of the Game – Diana Catt (week 44)

10 – More Than the Game – Barbara Swander Miller (week 33)

(The 8 thru 10 of hearts come from the “Hoosier Hoops and Hijinks” anthology; I met a couple of the authors at the Greenwood Library author fair a couple months back)

20141216-073917.jpg

J – Don’t Look Now – Daphne DuMaurier (week 15)

Q – Some Women – Alice Munro (week 5)

K – Mrs. Melville Makes a Purchase – Shirley Jackson (week 29)

SPADES (Darker and/or recommended by others)

A – The Delusional Mr. Necessary – Josh Green (week 21)

2 – Wild Card – Beyond Castle Frankenstein by Paula Cappa (week 9)

3 – The Sleeping Quartet – Jason Sizemore (week 19)

(I selected two stories from Jason Sizemore’s collection “Irredeemable”) 20141216-073909.jpg

4 – Dollhouse – Craig Wallwork (week 39)

5 – A Science for Being Alone – Daniel Alarcon (week 48)

6 – The Semplica-Girls Diaries – George Saunders (week 45)

7 – The Commissioner and the Pig – Nick Jacobs (week 28)

8 – Axis of Symmetry – Josh Green (week 36)

(Josh  Green’s “Dirtyville Rhapsodies” was recommended to me by Indy author Robert Rebein at a book event at Bookmama’s bookstore)

20141216-073851.jpg

9 – Yellow Warblers – Jason Sizemore (week 30)

10 – Dial Tone – Benjamin Percy (week 12)

J – The Truth and All Its Ugly – Kyle Minor (week 25)

Q – City of Clowns – Daniel Alarcon (week 34)

K – A Coon Hunter’s Noir – Frank Bill (week 14)

DIAMONDS (Stories from Indy Writes Books)

sponsor

A – Between the Lines – Ben Winters (week 40)

2 – Wild Card – Corn, Limestone, Horseweed and Writers – Dan Wakefield (essay) – (week 1)

3 – Your Book: A Novel in Stories – Cathy Day (week 32)

4 – Small Planes, Flying Low – Victoria Barrett (week 27)

5 – El Estocada – John David Anderson (week 2)

6 – A Little Knowledge – Terence Faherty (week 22)

7 – The Pharmacist from Jena – Michael Dahlie (week 43)

8 – This Bitter Pill – Frank Bill (week 31)

9 – What Once Was – Frank Bill (week 49)

10 – Finding Eudora – Amy Sorrells (week 18)

J – How to Swim – Larry Sweazy (week 51)

Q – Anna’s Wings – Angela Jackson- Brown (week 8)

K – The Journey – Mary Susan Buhner (week 20)

(CLUBS) Stories from The New Yorker magazine

A – Happy Trails – Sherman Alexie (week 50)

2 – Wild Card – These Short, Dark Days – Alice McDermott (week 35)

3 – Rough Deeds – Annie Proulx (week 3)

4 – The Women – William Trevor (week 47)

5 – A Voice in the Night – Steven Millhauser (week 42)

6 – Extreme Solitude – Jeffrey Eugenides (week 6)

7 – Monstro – Junot Diaz (week 7)

8 – Citizen Conn – Michael Chabon (week 4)

9 – Backbone – David Foster Wallace (week 13)

10 – The Science of Flight – Yiyun Lee (week 17)

J – Amundsen – Alice Munro (week 37)

Q – Indianapolis (Highway 74) – Sam Shepherd (week 46)

K – In the South – Salman Rushdie (week 52)

20141216-074053.jpg

(“Ye-ah, Deal Me In is definitely fun. Yea-ah.”)

11 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    December 16, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Great list, Jay! I’ve never read any short stories by Michael Chabon. I’m curious to see what you think. I look forward to your list being very informative as many of the authors are new to me. It looks like we have two overlapping authors. Can’t wait!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 19, 2014 at 8:05 am

      Thanks, Dale. I’m excited to read so many “new” and different authors this year. I’m surprised we only have two in common, but that’s probably a good thing. We can cover more ground that way.🙂

      Like

  2. Paula Cappa said,

    December 16, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I’m so impressed with your choices. 2015 promises to be very exciting, Jay!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 19, 2014 at 8:06 am

      Thanks. I agree, and I am looking forward to my new reading year.🙂

      Like

  3. December 16, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    I just realized I have Daphne DuMaurier in all my challenges. “The Birds” for DMI, “Don’t Look Now” on the Obscure Literary Monsters list, and a Rebecca read-a-long in March. I haven’t read any DuMaurier; I hope I like her!

    Hoosier Hoops and Hijinks sounds like it would be great reading for March!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 19, 2014 at 8:09 am

      I’ve only read a couple of her works, Rebecca and Flight of the Falcon. I liked both, Rebecca especially.

      I’m looking forward to Hoosier Hoops and Hijinks. As I mentioned, I learned of it at a local author fair, and their table was one of the few that really “had their act together” as far as being engaging and positively promoting their book. I felt that should be rewarded so I bought one.🙂

      Like

  4. Jason M. said,

    December 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    A great list! Especially looking forward to the Chabon, I haven’t read that particular story of his. And yet… I see no short stories that became “Twilight Zone” episodes this time around!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 19, 2014 at 8:10 am

      Dang! That is a serious oversight.🙂 actually DMI2014 just served me up “It’s a Good Life” by. Jerome Bixby here in week 51, so maybe it will tide me over for awhile…

      Like

  5. Randall said,

    December 21, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    An excellent, varied list! I am unfamiliar with most of the authors (and, I think, all of the stories) on your list, so I am looking forward to your posts in the coming year for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Candiss said,

    December 22, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    I really like this list, Jay! Familiar names plus intriguing new ones = an awesome year of stories.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 23, 2014 at 6:01 pm

      Thanks! I think I have a really good mix this year. Can’t wait to get started…🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

