My Short Story Advent Calendar mini-project

(Note: Thanks to Randall at the Time Enough at Last blog, from whom I borrowed this idea.)

I’ve had on my kindle for a couple weeks now a short story collection titled “Gifts of the Magi.” (click here for more info)

gotm-cover-final100a

It contains 14 stories and one essay, a reading burden that I should be able to easily slip into in the time leading up to Christmas.  And it’s a perfect choice for another reason: proceeds from the sale of this book go to benefit “Indy Reads Books“, a local not-for-profit organization here whose goal is to “promote and improve the literacy of adults and families” in Central Indiana.

Since the number of stories is less than the 24 days on an advent calendar, I’ll delay my start until day 10 (this may also give me time to read ahead and prepare a couple blog posts for once I get started).  A few of these writers are familiar to me already.  I posted about E. Chris Garrison’s “Reality Check” about a year and a half ago, and I’ve read and enjoyed R.J. Sullivan’s “Haunting Blue”; Matthew Barron is a name known to me because of a mutual friend, but I’ve not read anything by him previously and Herika Raymer had a story in one of my favorite anthologies I’ve read this year, “Perfect Flaw“, so I won’t be treading on totally unfamiliar ground, even if “Speculative Fiction” is not a genre I read that often. I know I won’t have time to write a post about every story, but I will try to share my impressions, and perhaps write a full post or two on my favorites.

 

advent_calendar

(I found this particular advent calendar online here )

Here’s my schedule:

12/10 “Lumps of Coal” (essay) by Nicole Cushing

12/11 “An Outlandish Christmas” – Chantal Noordeloos

12/12 “Seasons of Renewal: A Gods’ Dream Trilogy” – Debra Holland

12/13 “The Dead of Night” – David Jobe

12/14 “Quantum of Solstice” – J.P. Bastin**

12/15 “The Warmth of Midwinter” – Marian Allen

12/16 “The Curious Case of the Cobbler’s Christmas” – Katina French

12/17 “The Longest Night” – Matthew Barron

12/18 “Freezy the Snow Demon” – Scott Sandridge

12/19 “This Thing Called Christmas” – Herika R. Raymer

12/20 “How Krampus Saved Christmas” – S.H. Roddey

12/21 “Unraveled” – A.D. Roland

12/22 “Christmas Special” – E. Chris Garrison

12/23 “An Ivory Christmas” – John F. Allen

12/24 “Blue Christmas” – R. J. Sullivan

**”Quantum of Solstice!?” I think I already have a favorite title at least. 🙂

Wish me luck!

2 Comments

  1. Randall said,

    December 2, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Looks like a great collection. Good luck on your reading!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 3, 2014 at 9:10 am

      Thanks! I’m on my third story already. Interesting reading… 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

