Cosmos 2014 – “The Waiting” is almost over!

20140309-193620.jpg

Tonight at 9 p.m. The Fox Network broadcasts the premiere of Neil deGrasse Tyson’s updated reboot of Carl Sagan’s classic CBS series “Cosmos.” As a loyal viewer of the original, I’ve been excited about this since I first learned it was in the works more than a year ago. I can’t wait.

Though certainly not a scientist, I’ve read most of Sagan’s books and found them quite edifying. My favorite is probably “The Demon Haunted World” which I wish more people were aware of. I also read the “book version” of Cosmos back in the day, and I’ve recently re-watched the original series in preparation.

20140309-193632.jpg

Have you read any of Sagan’s work, or any other “popular science” books? Which are your favorites? Will you be watching Fox tonight?

Yes, Of course, I’ve also been a Tom Petty fan since before the original Cosmos was broadcast. (His album “Damn the Torpedoes” pretty much got me through high school) So, given the title of this post, here’s a gratuitous YouTube clip of his thrown in: 🙂
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AIP9wN7X2TQ

20140309-193940.jpg

4 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    March 9, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Jay! ‘The Demon Hunted World’! That’s the title that was on our bookclub’s “bookshelf”. I was trying to remember it the other day. I’ve been wanting to find a non-fiction book to read and I thought of Sagan, but couldn’t remember the title. Thanks for reminding me!
    -Dale

    Like

  2. Jay said,

    March 9, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Oops! Typo alert! It’s Demon “Haunted” World. (I fixed it in the body of the post now too) Great book that will really help the reader think critically and skeptically when necessary.

    Like

  3. March 10, 2014 at 10:59 am

    I liked Into the Universe with Stephen Hawking from a couple of years ago. If you haven’t seen it yet, I recommend.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 11, 2014 at 7:16 am

      Thanks, AFP. I actually own that one too. Also very good!

      Like


Leave a Reply

