I’ll be Tweeting from the Vonnegut Library Book Club Meeting Today!

Just a heads up that I am going to be “live-tweeting” (from my @bibliophilopoly account) at today’s meeting of the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library’s book club, where we’ll be discussing the book, Slaughterhouse Five.  I’ll probably start about 11:30 a.m. EST or a few minutes after if you’d like to tune in.  I’ll be using the hashtags #vonnegut, #bookclub, and #slaughterhousefive if you want to follow along or tweet questions or comments of your ow. I’ll try to share any I see. THe meeting only lasts about an hour. This will be my first time trying something like this, so I have no idea how smoothly (or roughly!) it might go…  Wish me luck!

1 Comment

  1. Jay said,

    December 20, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Yes, I’m commenting on my own post again… I’ll also make this its own post though. 🙂

    This actually went pretty well, I think. It was quite a challenge trying to keep up with all the great discussion – and especially to convert the highlights to tweet-sized bursts of text. By my count, I sent out 45 tweets, including a few photos (with help from my friend, Bob).

    I don’t know how many might have followed along. We did get a handful of comments from the twitterverse, though, which the in-person group was happy to hear.

    I’ll try this again in January, when the club will be discussing the Library’s first two issues of its Literary Journal, “So it Goes.” I should point out that an official, much more detailed (and literate!) record of the meetings is posted to the Book Club’s blog (linked on the left in my blogroll).

    February is my turn at the discussion leader helm again for the short story collection, Welcome to the Monkey House, so I’m sure I won’t be doing any live-tweeting then. Maybe someone else will pick up the baton?

    Like


Leave a Reply

