“A Tale for the Time Being” by Ruth Ozeki

20131209-073941.jpg

“Writing is perhaps the greatest of human inventions, binding together people who never knew each other, citizens of distant epochs. Books break the shackles of time.” – Carl Sagan

Ruth Ozeki was no doubt familiar with this quotation, for she certainly embraces its spirit in her novel. Sagan’s quotation, from the original “Cosmos” series, also includes the following: “What an astonishing thing a book is. It’s a flat object made from a tree with flexible parts on which are printed lots of funny, dark squiggles. But one glance at it and you’re inside the mind of another person, maybe someone dead for thousands of years. Across the millennia, the author is speaking clearly and silently inside your head – directly to you.” Ozeki even mentions a similar sentiment, noting that “…the ancient Greeks believed that, when you read aloud, it was actually the spirits of the dead, borrowing your tongue in order to speak again.” I think it is easy for those of us who read often – or maybe not often enough – to overlook the magical quality of the act of reading. One of the triumphs of Ruth Ozeki’s remarkable novel, “A Tale for the Time Being” is that it helps us to remember the amazing and almost supernatural relationship between a reader and a writer.

The book’s title is also a play on words, not meaning the common expression in usage today of “for the time being.” For Ozeki and this novel, “A time being is someone who lives in time, and that means you, and me, and every one of us who is, or was, or ever will be.”

20131209-073836.jpg

It would take too long a post to summarize Ozeki’s complex novel, but if I had to do it in a few sentences I would describe it as a dual tale of a sixteen year-old Japanese school girl, Nao (pronounced “now”, get it?) and an author Ruth (hmm…) “halfway across the world” in British Columbia. The two become linked when Nao’s diary (carefully preserved by being wrapped up in multiple plastic bags inside a Hello Kitty lunch box) washes up on shore near Ruth’s home. Ruth becomes obsessed with the diary and life of her correspondent, (who seems quite aware of the magical writer-reader relationship) assuming that it is the part of the first wave of flotsam produced during the Fukushima earthquake/tidal wave disaster of March 2011. The further she reads in the diary, the more her own grip on time seems to loosen… Nao also writes in her diary – about her diary – that “It feels like I’m reaching forward through time to touch you, and now that you’ve found it you’re reaching back to me!”

(Below: Marcel Proust’s “Remembrance of Things Past” also was prominently featured in Ozeki’s book)

20131209-073922.jpg

Highlights of the book include Nao’s special relationship with her great-grandmother Yasutani Jiko, a Buddhist nun. Many of my favorite parts of the book take place at the mountain retreat where Jiko resides. Be warned, though, that there are parts of Nao’s story that are disturbing or unsettling and which the very sensitive reader may find hard to read. If there is a flaw in the book it’s that I did find the character of Ruth’s husband, Oliver, a little too good to be true. He seemed to know everything. Whenever a question came up about some erudite knowledge he seemed to know all about it. A little too convenient, but useful to advance the story I suppose. All in all, though, still one of my favorite few books of the year. You may have heard the title among the finalists for the 2013 Mann-Booker prize. It ended up losing out to Eleanor Catton’s “The Luminaries” which I have now added to my TBR list – It must really be something if it beat out “A Tale for the Time Being!”

(below: some of the “gyres”-natural ocean currents- that perhaps helped bring Nao’s diary to the hands of Ruth. Oliver knew everything about these, too. 🙂 )

20131209-073901.jpg

Have you read this remarkable book? If not, what’s the hold up? 🙂 If yes, what did YOU think about it?

One good, professional review I found (in the LA Times) may be read here: http://articles.latimes.com/2013/mar/21/entertainment/la-ca-jc-ruth-ozeki-20130324

(Below: I loved this picture from Ozeki’s website. What a feeling it must be to sit in front of a stack of one’s books like that! – Reminded me a little of Walter White’s pile of money in the self-storage unit in “Breaking Bad”…) 🙂

20131209-073847.jpg

The author’s website: http://www.ruthozeki.com/

breaking bad

4 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    December 9, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    Jay, this sounds like a great novel. Currently, I’m reading Mark Helprin’s Winter’s Tale. Reaching forward and backward in time is a prominent theme in his novel as well. The plot is also rather intricate and the conflict between “destiny” and “free will” is becoming a part of it.

    I think Ozeki’s novel needs to be on my list, now, too.
    -Dale

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 9, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      Hi Dale, I’ve added “Winter’s Tale” to my TBR list now too. I just read the summary on Goodreads. Sounds like a good one & I know its highly acclaimed, but I’ve never gotten around to it. I’ll wait to hear your reactions, though, before taking the plunge.

      You’d like A Tale for the Time Being, and I think my having read a lot of Murakami lately helped me feel more at home in. The sections of the novel that were set in Japan.
      -Jay

      Like

  2. janbujwit said,

    December 10, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Your review has inspired me to order both books. I have been in awe of the power of the written word, all my life. I never tire of books, great or otherwise.

    Thanks for passing your thoughts on in your blog. The time you spent creating it will result in moments of pleasure that come and, in your words, bind me with the voice of the writer. What a great gift. Connections to others can bring those coveted moments of pure pleasure spent with a good book.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      December 10, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      Hi Jan,

      What a wonderful comment! Thank you. I do hope you enjoy the book. As I said, I haven’t read The Luminaries yet, so I’ll not feel any responsibility if you don’t like THAT one. 🙂

      Every now and then I wonder why I keep doing this blog, but – outside the obvious act of self-expression – it does give me great pleasure to know when I’ve occasionally led someone to a book or story that they then enjoy. I hope you check back here after you read it and let me know what you think.

      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

