Read-a-thon post #5 (final)

Well, I’m never doing that again! Well, maybe I will, it was an entertaining – if draining – challenge. I cheated a bit at the end this morning, as I was only ten pages from the end of my last book when time expired, but I kept reading out of momentum and finished seventeen minutes late. (I figure I had a 30 minute cushion in the bank from my unplanned interruption yesterday, though, so that’s my rationalization).

20131013-085143.jpg
New reading since my last post included finishing The Right Kind of Wrong, reading Saul Bellow’s short story “Looking for Mr. Green,” and finishing the pre-read-a-thon-started non fiction book, “No Plot, no Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days” by Chris Baty (Hey, NaNoWriMo is just around the corner, you know) 🙂

20131013-085152.jpg

My final unofficial “stats” are as follows:

Four books completed
Okay, so two I had started before the read-a-thon and joined in medias res, and one of those two was only fifty pages from the end, but so what? And the other two were quite short. One was 173 pages and the other was more of a novella at only 75 pages.

Five short stories read
I thought I might end up reading “just a bunch of short stories” during this event but I’m glad I kept them to a respectable number.

Total pages read:
Probably about 455. That doesn’t sound like that many, but I’m a slow reader (a condition I curse almost daily), usually in the neighborhood of 30-45 pages an hour.

Total time spent reading:
I was diligent about keeping exact track of this until about 6 p.m. but kind of got distracted later. My best estimate would be about 11 1/2 hours. I only slept about 5 1/2 hours. The great mystery is: what did I do during all the rest of the twenty-four hours?? I can come up with an explanation of about 3.5 of them, but that still leaves 3.5. Did I fall asleep during the day? Did I do the math wrong in my early counting? Next time – if there is a next time – I’ll just have to keep an old fashioned log book or something.

Well, that’s it for me. I look forward to posting in more detail about some of this burst of reading in the near future. Thanks to all the read-a-thon cheerleaders and others who visited Bibliophilopolis during this event. I hope you enjoyed your visit and come back in the future.

-Jay

10 Comments

  1. Candiss said,

    October 13, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Congratulations on getting through a stack of books and stories! Wow, I should have thought of short stories… I even have a collection queued up for reading soon. If I’d tried short fiction, the neat and swift wrap of of each story might have kept me going and warded off my tendency to fall asleep mid-page. I’ll try this during the next read-a-thon in April!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      Hi Candiss,
      Thanks! Short stories have become a regular part of my reading diet the past few years. I’ve really learned to appreciate that form.
      -Jay

      Like

  2. lynnsbooks said,

    October 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Well done. I’ll keep your secret about finishing a few minutes late!!
    I don’t think I could do a readathon – too many things to distract me during the course of the day, particularly over a weekend – if I had a day off work that would be different of course, nice quiet empty house!!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:09 pm

      Thanks, Lynn. It definitely helped that I’m off on staycation this upcoming week! 🙂 I don’t know if I’ll try it again or not.

      Like

  3. October 14, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    That all sounds too intense for me. I think I would have bag under my eyes but at least you were able to get in some reads you wanted to finish up.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 16, 2013 at 8:45 am

      There was no “penalty for failure” so I didn’t feel much pressure other than that which I put on myself. It was interesting to live in an “I must read” mindset for a whole day though. I may try it again…

      Like

  4. Melissa said,

    October 15, 2013 at 10:02 am

    You did great! The trick with making the read-a-thon work for me was to not push myself too much. The first time I tried to read the whole 24 hours and was just exhausted. Since then I’ve read as much as I can, but I take a nap or go to bed whenever I want to.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 16, 2013 at 8:49 am

      Thanks, Melissa! I had no illusions about reading the entire 24 hours, as I am probably physiologically incapable of that as a “middle aged” person. I think for me variety is the key, and picking some short works to read, which provided periodic “achievements” that made me feel like I was succeeding. Maybe I will try it again next year. (And being on “staycation” for the nine days after the Readathon made me feel less goth for spending all that time not accomplishing anything else!)
      -Jay

      Like

  5. Brian Joseph said,

    October 16, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    Hi Jay – I have been reading some of your posts. Awesome Blog! I like your choice of books and point of view.

    Congratulations on finishing the Read – A – Thon! Several Bloggers that I follow participate. It kind of scares me though. I fear that it might burn out my ability to read for a while.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 17, 2013 at 9:58 am

      Hi Brian,

      Thanks for the kind words. I enjoyed my visit to your blog as well. I’ve discovered a lot of great new-to-me blogs through the R.I.P. Challenge.

      I wasn’t sure how I would react to the Readathon, but I think overall it was a positive experience. I did feel burned out by the end of the day, but was reading again the next day at my normal levels 🙂

      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

