Read-a-thon post #4

Checking in at about 6:15 EST. I’ve so far spent a total of 6 hours and 44 minutes reading today. What have I read since my last update? Well, I tried the first two stories in my new ghost story anthology (pictured previously in post #1) and I hope they are not representative of the rest of the collection as I wasn’t very impressed with them. They were “Across the Moors” by William Fryer Harvey and “Attorney for the Damned” by Renier Wyers. I’m sure I’ll return to this anthology in the future but it won’t be today. 🙂

After that disappointment, I turned to a go-to anthology of mine, “The Weird: A Compendium of Dark and Strange tales.” I had much better luck there, as Dennis Etchison’s story “It Only Comes Out at Night” was much better and much more chilling. I still have a lot of stories still unread in this HUGE anthology, which I’m sure will serve me well for years to come. It is also the source of the story “The Howling Man” which I also read today. Here is a YouTube link to the tv adaptation of that story from Rod Serling’s Twilight Zone. A classic! http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-k4WJGtGnBw&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D-k4WJGtGnBw

20131012-183518.jpg

I’ve spent the rest of my time since my last update reading Jade Eby’s “The Right Kind of Wrong.” Okay, yeah, its kind of a “girl book,” and I’m a middle aged guy, but knock it off with the teasing. Jade is one of the first bloggers I connected with almost four years ago when I first started blogging. She and I coincidentally bought or read Alex Flynn’s novel “Beastly” at about the same time and we’ve been “blogging friends” ever since. And here it is a few years later and she has a book of her own out. I am nothing if not loyal, so of course I had to read it. AND I have to admit I’m enjoying it. You gotta problem with that? 🙂 Seriously, I’ll give it a full review once this read-a-thon madness is over with. God I hope that’s soon as my eyes are getting tired. I’m about 2/3 of the way through it and should be able to finish it up here this evening. It’s not that long.

(Below: yes, I’m really reading a book with a cover like this – hey, at least its only on my e-reader!)

20131012-183527.jpg

How’s your read-a-thon going?

P.S. The tv has yet to be turned on today. 😀

8 Comments

  1. October 12, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Ghost stories are perfect for read-a-thon-ing. Great choice! Good luck in the remaining hours!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:24 am

      Thank you, and thanks for visiting.

      Nothing beats a good ghost story. 🙂

      Like

  2. October 13, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Hope you are still awake and reading! #teampanda

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:26 am

      Umm… I’m awake now, does that count? 🙂 I can’t do a true marathon. When I was younger I could sometimes pull off an all nighter, but I’m getting too old for that sh..tuff any more. 🙂

      Like

  3. October 13, 2013 at 7:05 am

    I love ghost stories. No TV. Good for you! #teampanda

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 13, 2013 at 8:28 am

      Hi Vikk,
      Me too on the ghost stories. I did finally take a break at 9pm and switched the tv on for a bit, but then ended up reading until after midnight (late for this guy).
      -Jay

      Like

  4. Jade said,

    October 14, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    Gotta say that I LOVE this post 🙂 I’m so glad we’ve stayed blogging friends and I appreciate the support even if it’s a little on the girly side 😉

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 16, 2013 at 8:52 am

      Me too, Jade!

      I did enjoy your book. I thought it was a good story, and it kept me reading because I wanted to know how things would turn out. I’ll try to write a dedicated post about it soon. I’ve been very happy to see your progress in just these few years & wish you much success in your future literary endeavors!

      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

