Read-a-thon post #2

20131012-101254.jpg
A quick update. 10 a.m. – I’ve read a total of 1 hour and 56 minutes thus far, and I was able to finish Jack London’s unique novel, Before Adam. I won’t post about it in depth at this time, but maybe later. For my short story reading project, I drew the five of spades, which I had assigned to the Charles Beaumont short story, “The Howling Man,” which I have just completed. (You may be familiar with this story from the Twilight Zone episode of the same title.) What’s next? I think I may get started on Kevin Helmick’s “noir novel” Driving Alone: A Love Story.

How’s your read-a-thon coming along?

20131012-101244.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Jay said,

    October 12, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Oh, and I visited a few other read-a-thoner’s blogs and commented on two of them. 🙂 Time to leave Panera and go home. (Someone WAS in “my spot” this morning too. Grrr. Fortunately, my primary back-up spot was available. 🙂

    Like

  2. October 12, 2013 at 11:40 am

    I love Panera’s. Great place but how could they take your spot? Do they not know? Do they not understand?
    (TP)

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 12, 2013 at 6:46 pm

      At least they anticipated my order correctly. Maybe I’m gettting too predictable. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dale said,

    October 12, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    Jay, ever since you’ve mentioned Before Adam, I’ve been interested. I’m curious to know what you thought.
    -Dale

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 12, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      I’ll write more about it after the read-a-thon. It was pretty interesting, especially the set-up and explanation for why the narrator was experiencing the ‘other life’ phenomenon in his dreams. I wonder if the makers of “One Million Years B.C.” read this work as part of their research. It almost felt like they could have ripped off part of the plot line. Hmm…

      Like


Leave a comment