Time for a Read-a-thon!

20131011-072306.jpg

I’ve been blogging for a few years now, and I’ve often seen posts by my fellow bloggers about upcoming “Read-a-thon” events. I’ve often wanted to participate, but they always seemed to fall on an inconvenient date for me. Not so this time! Tomorrow, 10-12, is the “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon” event, and guess what? It’s also the start of my staycation! So, I’m going to take the plunge and see how much I can read in the twenty-four hours starting when I get up tomorrow morning.

Since this is my first time, I’ll not likely be doing anything besides just reading (there are a lot ancillary events going on) and perhaps updating my progress regularly here on my blog. Hundreds of bloggers are participating. Are you one of them? Looking at the sign up list, I don’t recognize many of the blogs and bloggers so this may also be a good way to discover some new and interesting book blogs. Maybe some fellow participants will even discover mine? 🙂

Weekends are a prime reading time for me anyway, so this won’t be a great personal sacrifice to me (unless I forego my normally scheduled Saturday visit to BW3s to play Buzztime Trivia – hey, maybe I could make that a personal reward if I can reach a certain threshold of pages or books or stories?) Ooh, good idea, Jay. 🙂

Later tonight or early tomorrow morning I’ll post a tentative schedule and list of potential reads for those who want to play along at home.

More information about the read-a-thon maybe found at: http://24hourreadathon.com/

20131011-073327.jpg

8 Comments

  1. Melissa said,

    October 11, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Have fun Jay! I have been participating in the read-a-thon for the last 3 years and I just love it. I will actually be out of town tomorrow, but I’m still going to try and fit some reading in!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 11, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      Thanks, Melissa! I will try my best. I’m actually a slow reader so I worry I won’t get much done compared to “veteran readathoners” but half the fun is in the planning and in the attempt. I hope it is, anyway. 🙂

      Like

  2. October 11, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    I’m one of those people that would be running in the other direction of this reading challenge. I already have to read so many books, I would prefer the challenge of “Lazy Sunday and Pancakes and a Movie and NO BOOKS!” But I think it’s a great idea for people who have different careers/responsibilities but love books but don’t have the time to crack their favorites.

    Good luck. Looking forward to reading about your progress.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 11, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      I certainly don’t blame you for that, if books and reading are your day job, I’d look for some other form of entertainment too. 🙂

      An entire day of reading on Saturday may make my standard debauched Sunday of mindless football watching be all the sweeter too.

      Like

  3. Dale said,

    October 11, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    Jay, won’t be able to do this tomorrow, but it would be great to try it sometime. Good luck and I Iook forward to hearing what you are reading.
    -Dale

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 11, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      Thanks, Dale. I have a nice stack of books and an anthology or two which should provide ample fodder…

      Like

  4. lynnsbooks said,

    October 11, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    Good luck. I would probably be useless at a readathon – too easily distracted by Twitter and the like!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

      Thank you. 🙂 I will probably need it…

      Like


Leave a Reply

