Challenge Accepted!

20130904-072121.jpg

Okay, I’ve caved in and will be participating in a reading challenge. I am cheating a bit, though, since I would have likely met the requirements anyway by my normal reading patterns. I guess I didn’t need to admit that, did I? 🙂

Anyway, it’s the “R.I.P. VIII” challenge. RIP standing for “readers imbibing peril”(!) I love it! There are various levels of participation, but I – not surprisingly – have selected the “Peril of the Short Story” option. In September and October I will read and post about several (maybe more 😉 …) short stories in the “Mystery, Suspense, Triller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, and Supernatural” genres. You are welcome to join me in this challenge – if you dare! Here is a link to the host site.

20130904-072134.jpg

And now I’m off to pick out some stories for this. As always, I will happily accept recommendations from readers and fellow citizens of Bibliophilopolis…

8 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    September 4, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Hi Jay,
    I have never read a single word written by Edith Wharton but I have recently heard that she wrote some ghost stories. I guess her semi-famous quote went something like “I don’t believe in ghosts but I’m afraid of them.” In reading about a few of these stories, they sound like they could be fairly creepy. She’s included in my 2013 DMI, but her card still hasn’t come up. The story I have this year is called “All Souls” – not sure if it’s scary or not. I also currently have a couple of her stories scheduled for 2014 – but that’s a little ways off so its subject to change.
    -Dale

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 6, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      Hi Dale,

      I’m pretty sure I have a book of Wharton’s short stories somewhere around the house, I will have to read a couple for the RIP challenge…

      I also love the quotation you cited, as it is similar to how I feel about “ghosts” – I don’t “believe in them” but there little I like better than a good ghost story or legend.

      -Jay

      Like

  2. Melissa said,

    September 5, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Have fun! This is my third year joining the RIP challenge and it’s so fun!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 6, 2013 at 12:12 pm

      Thanks, Melissa! I read a lot of “weird” lit anyway so this challenge seemed like a no brainier. I’m looking forward to reading everyone else’s posts and discovering some new blogs and bloggersalong the way.

      -Jay

      Like

  3. September 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    Lots of people (me included) join Carl’s challenges even when trying to limit challenges…because they’re so laid-back and fun! And if it fits your reading anyway…why resist? 🙂

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm

      Hi Cheryl,
      Thanks for the visit! Yes, exactly – why not join in the fun? The only eligible category I don’t get into that much is mysteries, but I have enjoyed reading the posts that people have shared this far.
      -Jay

      Like

  4. September 7, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    I look forward to your posts, Jay. I’ll be joining, too. 🙂

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 8, 2013 at 7:34 am

      Hi Nancy,
      Great to hear you’ll be joining in! I will look forward to your posts as well.
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

