September Reading – The Month Ahead

What reading do I have planned for September? Let’s start with my “required reads.”

The Great Gatsby by. F. Scott Fitzgerald

20120904-072817.jpg

Yes, I’ve read this before (at least once) but my “Great Books” discussion group is reading this for our September meeting. We usually discuss shorter works, but we don’t meet over the summer and for September’s meeting it is traditional to read a novel. That’s what they tell me, anyway, I haven’t been a member for that long yet. 🙂

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

20120904-072830.jpg

This is the September selection for the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library Book Club. In honor of “National Banned Books Week,” we read a book that has suffered the ignominy of being banned. Last year it was Huckleberry Finn. I’ve read this before too. Twice. It will be interesting to see what my fellow KVMLBC members, an intelligent group, will have to say about this one. I always learn a lot at these meetings. It’s a good choice, too, with Bradbury having just passed away earlier this year.

Speaking of re-reads, I’m doing a nostalgic re-read of Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes – a favorite from my youth. Look for a post on this around the middle of the month. Fellow blogger Dale at Mirror with Clouds is also re-reading. Why not join us?

I’m also reading Pandora by Joanna Parypinski. A just-published first novel. After reading a short story of hers in an anthology a few months ago, I stumbled upon her blog and, since she is a graduate of Butler University (here in Indianapolis, just down the road from my office) thought I’d “support the home team” and read her book. I’ve already started and am enjoying it thus far.

20120904-072840.jpg

What else? Well, there are five Saturdays in September, and that is the day of the week I draw a card to pick which of my fifty-two scheduled short stories to read. The Queen of Diamonds led me, on September 1, to Maya Angelou’s “Reunion,” which I just posted about. Four more to go, though, and I look forward to learning which ones fate picks for me this month.

There’s also my neglected “Author Biography” 2012 reading project. I have a Charles Dickens bio (Charles Dickens: A Life by Claire Tomalin) queued up in my e-reader, but haven’t been able to get into it yet.

20120904-072850.jpg

That’s about it for me. So, what are YOU reading in September. I’d love to hear about your reading plans…

-Jay

4 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    September 4, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Some great books, Jay! Gatsby and Fahrenheit are two books I want to re-read sometime. Probably not until next year, though.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 5, 2012 at 6:43 am

      Hi Dale,
      I’m looking forward to Fahrenheit 451 more than Gatsby. There are parts of it I don’t remember as well and am happy to be “compelled” to refresh my memory.
      -Jay

      Like

  2. Alex said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Pandora – That is one scary cover :S

    I’ve also just started on a author biography as well: Moab is my Washpot by Stephen Fry. He’s more than just an author, but I think it can fit.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 5, 2012 at 6:40 am

      Hi Alex,
      You’ve mentioned Fry before. I really must check out some of his work. I think I did listen to an audio sample once of him (reading Chekhov maybe)? I remember it was good, but I’m just not one who has been able to get into audio books.

      Agreed about that over. I like it, though. 🙂
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

