Nostalgia Read-Along?

Have you ever heard of the name, Johnny Tremain? If so, it’s probably because you read the Esther Forbes novel of the same name when you were in school. Set in the time leading up to the American Revolution, it was “required reading” for me and I’m sure countless others of my generation. It was something of a rarity for a required read, though, as it was actually a page turner, and a book I revisited and read multiple times when I was in school.

So, in talking with one of the co-founders of my former book club – and fellow blogger Dale (Mirror with Clouds) we both agreed to re-read this “classic” from our youth this month. Has anyone else read this book? If so, why not join us in this re-read? Or, how about this: if that book doesn’t interest you, why not re-read a favorite book that has nostalgic value for YOU this month? OR… If you don’t feel like re-reading anything, I’d still like to know what books from your school days hold a nostalgic place of honor in your reading history…

(Below: I believe this is the edition of Johnny Tremain that I own/owned (I have no idea now whatever has become of it). I particularly remember the glare of the “redcoat “on the cover…)

20120903-100516.jpg

9 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    September 3, 2012 at 10:19 am

    I remember one of my kids reading this, but for the life of me I don’t remember reading it. Was this required in high school or is my senility just becoming worse?

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 3, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Hi Scott,
      If I had to guess, I would say fifth or sixth grade – maybe. It doesn’t seem like anything I would’ve read before our school 89 days. I’m not 100% sure it was required reading, either – but I’m sure I got the book at school, or it was recommended there.
      -Jay

      Like

      • Scott said,

        September 3, 2012 at 10:30 am

        I know we were divided into different reading groups, so maybe I just wasn’t in that group. Or perhaps you ordered it through the weekly reader. I remember being the one to collect money for book orders.

        Like

  2. Dee said,

    September 3, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Hi ……
    Books I remember ….
    Buff: a Collie
    Freckles
    Susie Cucumber (about a dog found in a cucumber patch who would answer letters to her – so that was when I was about 6!)
    My first teen-age books that I remember:
    Tales of the South Pacific – Michener
    Look Homeward Angel – T. Wolfe

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 3, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      Hi Dee,
      I don’t know those first three. 🙂 I do also remember, in approximately my junior high years, reading several times a book called “The Island of the Blue Dolphins” by Scott O’Dell. For my younger years, I have fond memories of a stack of about a dozen or so Christmas books for children. They were hardcover, but none were more than a quarter inch thick, and there were lots of pictures. They were taken down each December from the top shelf of our front hall closet. I read several of them over and over again. Earlier this year, I saw a few of the same books for sale at a book show. Brought back memories…
      -Jay

      Like

  3. Kathy Sauceda said,

    September 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    I also read this book several times while in school. Had forgotten about it until your blog. I think I may check it out again to see what I may have missed between the lines. 🙂

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 5, 2012 at 6:59 am

      You really should, Kathy! I opened it up last night and read a little. Memories started flooding back…

      Like

  4. Dale said,

    September 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    I don’t remember exactly when I read this book. I’m guessing sixth grade. I know I didn’t read it as required reading – I just read it on my own. The weekly reader! That’s a blast from the past! I’d forgotten all about that.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      September 5, 2012 at 7:01 am

      I was thinking maybe sixth grade too, but Scott (above) who was in class with me then doesn’t remember reading it. Maybe we were split into different reading groups as he says,though. I don’t remember that being the case, but my childhood memories are notoriously bad…

      Like


Leave a Reply

