July Reading: The Month Ahead

A new month is upon us again. Already. What’s on tap in my reading for July? Let’s start with the leftovers from June:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
In fairness, it was late June when I “re-engaged” with this chunkster. I’m almost a third of the way through it as of last night, though. Like the first book in this series, I find some of the characters more compelling than others, which makes Martin’s penchant for skipping from one (of many, many) character to another with each new chapter’s beginning somewhat vexing. I’ll get through it, though. The jury’s still out on whether I will continue on to book three… (author Martin is pictured below)

20120701-110444.jpg

Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox by John Waugh
I’ve stalled again on this one, with only about 150 pages to go, I haven’t opened it in more than a week now. More discipline is required from this reader. (you can tell I never would’ve made the cut as a West Point Cadet!) Below: author John Waugh

20120701-110451.jpg

Palm Sunday by Kurt Vonnegut

20120701-110042.jpg

A “required” read, this one is of course for my monthly meeting of the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library Book Club. I am so looking forward to reading this non-fiction work of Vonnegut’s musings. Only a couple more Vonnegut books to go for me and I’ll have read them all (I finished the last novel in May, and I think I just have this one and Armageddon in Retrospect left to go overall).

Probable reads:
Destination Unknown by Agatha Christie – a shorter, hopefully lighter read. A story with an interesting premise that I learned of via a fellow book blogger.

20120701-110054.jpg

Panther in the Sky by James Alexander Thom – this one’s appeared before at least once on my “the month ahead” posts. I think it’s finally time I gave Shawnee leader Tecumseh (portrait below) some attention…

20120701-110115.jpg
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck – a local book discussion group is meeting on this one on July 10th. Though I’m familiar with the story through the movie and pop culture in general, never having read this classic is a serious gap in my cultural literacy that needs to be addressed. Not sure if I’ll be able to read it in time for that meeting though.

20120701-110105.jpg

Also I’ll be continuing to catch up on my 2012 short story reading project, which I’ve been enjoying doing the past few days already. 🙂

That’s about it for me. What about you? What’s on deck in your reading plans for July? I’d love to hear…

3 Comments

  1. Jay said,

    July 1, 2012 at 11:26 am

    I just realized the picture of the Christie cover is a French edition. I’m leaving it in on purpose. 🙂

    Like

  2. Dale said,

    July 1, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    Highly recommend “The Grapes of Wrath”! I’m picking up Sign Talker (James Alexander Thom), I, Robot (Isaac Asimov) and Year of Wonders (Geraldine Brooks) at the library tomorrow. Finishing up Heinlein’s Stranger in a Strange Land (interesting Vonnegut tie-in from a New York Times article I found). More short stories, too, particularly by Vonnegut, Asimov and Charles Dickens.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      July 4, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      I’m getting frustrated that I can’t find my old paperback copy of The Grapes of Wrath. (must’ve boxed it up somewhere by mistake) thought I might be able to pick up a cheap e-copy, but Barnes & Noble want 12.99(!) for a nook book version. WTH?

      I need to read some Heinlein. I mentioned before that my Dad was a fan of his, plus many others I trust have spoken highly of him. Maybe in August…

      Like


Leave a Reply

