Survey Time!

These surveys that get passed around can be entertaining. Just for fun, here’s one that’s currently making the rounds…

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack:
I almost never eat & read at the same time, unless it’s at the coffee shop before work in the morning and I get something in addition to coffee.

What is your favorite drink while reading?
Water at home. Coffee “on the road.” I am always trying to drink more/enough water and sometimes I use reading to “help me” when I am able to set aside time for a long session of reading. I make myself a deal to drink a big drink of water “every ten pages” (or whatever). With my “rain man tendencies” this routine helps me keep both going. (Nerd Alert!)

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
If I own it, I’m writing in it. Mostly underlining or adding parentheses to passages I want to find again. Sometimes when I’m done with a book, I’ll immediately go back and review what I’ve marked. I (naturally) wouldn’t mark in a book if I didn’t own it. I often have to diplomatically decline offers to lend me a book because I know I’ll want to write in it. 🙂

How do you keep your place while reading a book?
Bookmark, or any spare piece of paper (receipts are good) I have handy. Sometimes I use the pen or pencil I’m using to mark the book.

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?
Both, of course! 🙂

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
Chapter ends are preferred,but I’ll stop anywhere if I have to.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
People do this?

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
Thanks to reading e-books on my iPad, I’m pretty good at this since I can switch right over to my Merriam Webster’s Dictionary app. I’m not good at remembering later, which is why I love the fact that the app has a “recently looked up” feature. Great for review!

What are you currently reading?
A Clash Of Kings by George R.R. Martin and Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox. See? One fiction, one non-fiction…

What is the last book you bought?
Agatha Christie’s “Destination Unknown” (heard about it from a fellow blogger)

Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
I usually have a couple going at a time, one fiction and one non-fiction. The latter usually take me longer to get through and sometimes I need to escape to fiction when the going gets tough.

Do you have a favorite time/place to read?
Several places. My bed, my couch, several different great, independent coffee shops and the library. Time? Early mornings before work (I commute across town and leave an hour or more early to beat the traffic, then just read/blog at the coffee shop unit about 7:45 – that’s where I am now!:-) ) Sundays, since I’m a bit of a heathen, are normally my most productive reading day.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?
It depends on if they’re good. Some authors need to know when to stop, though, methinks. Everything doesn’t have to be a trilogy, you know.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
Too many to mention just one. I often enjoy pointing a reader to something outside what I know to be their normal preferences, especially if it’s a book outside of MY normal preferences that I liked.

How do you organize your books?
Very poorly, I’m afraid. I have some clusters of related books, like those that a couple of book clubs I’ve belonged to have read. Or by topic. I have a box of books “I’m really going to read someday” too, but it has dust on it. Sadly (?) I have so many books now that sometimes I can’t find one I want. That makes me mad (but not mad enough to throw other books across the room) 🙂

What about you?

2 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    June 26, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    I don’t eat while reading, either. I drink water or tea at home. Tea or Pepsi at Panera. A lot of the books I read are from the library, so I don’t write in them, but as far as my own books go, I don’t have a problem with writing in them. I use bookmarks that they give out at the library, but I’ve been known to use receipts. I read fiction and non-fiction – if I did a count, fiction would probably win, though. Chapters are always nice places to stop, but I’ll stop anywhere. I don’t throw books, but if something is funny enough, I will probably slam it shut while I laugh – like when Owen Meany’s mother died. I’m only now starting to look up words, I used to just move on. I’m currently reading ‘Stranger in a Strange Land’ by Robert A. Heinlein. I just bought Charles Dickens’ ‘Hard Times’. I tend to read one book at a time unless it’s a long book then I break it up with something else during the breaks. I read at home in a chair in my bedroom or on my back patio (that’s where the red-wing blackbird on my blog came from). The library and Panera are good, too. I don’t care whether a book is a series or a stand-alone, although I think some series should have been stand-alones. Other than the books on my blog, I haven’t found myself recommending books too much. Each person in my family has a section on the bookshelf. The only problem is that the bookshelf really isn’t big enough for all the books so we double and triple row some of the shelves which is a pain because you can’t see the one’s in the back and if you’re looking for one, you have to take the front rows off to get to the back rows.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      June 27, 2012 at 6:37 am

      Interesting. It seems many respondents share the problem of not having enough room for all their books. I’m usually a little better reading “just” blogs and surfing the Internet in my coffee shop sessions, but I have also read books almost entirely in a coffee shop (Gulliver’s Travels from a couple years ago comes to mind).

      I wondered about the source of the picture of the red-winged blackbird. Very nice.

      Like


Leave a Reply

