Back to Westeros

Friday, I finished my “required reading” for the month (the Vonnegut short story collection Bagombo Snuff Box – more on that later, hopefully) and looked around for what to read next. Yes I “still have going” my current non-fiction read, The Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox, but I can fairly easily keep more than one book going at a time if one’s non-fiction and the other fiction. (How’s that for rationalization?) Actually, looking back on my prior “June Reading: The Month Ahead” post it seems an obvious choice to pick up George R.R. Martin’s “A Clash of Kings,” but I remain daunted by its size, AND by the fact that it’s book two of God knows how many in the series.

So, I nonetheless jumped in Friday night and Saturday morning and got about sixty-five pages in (and am about to pick it up again as soon as I finish this post). I anxious to find out the fates of Eddard Stark’s children (and their direwolves). And I confess I did have to look up the Wikipedia entry on the first book of the series, A Game of Thrones since it’s been just over a year since I read it and have forgotten much of the plot and characters (there’s that “great memory” again).

I know that this series is wildly popular, but I’m curious as to what other readers and citizens of Bibliophilopolis think of them. I’m “committed” now to read this second one, but should I go on and read them all? Or should I “cut” my losses and stop after this one? As a matter of policy, I don’t “DNF” books I’ve started, but I don’t think that rule should apply to series. Right? 🙂

20120624-104544.jpg

4 Comments

  1. Bellezza said,

    June 24, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I was so crazy about A Game of Thrones that I bought the entire series. Sadly, I haven’t been able to get past page 50 in the second book. I wondered if it was me, just bad timing on my part, or if truly one can’t enjoy any more after being so impressed with the first. Perhaps some day I’ll try to continue.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      June 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      I’ve made it to page 191 now and it’s finally starting to take hold of me again. I think with hese books, one needs prolonged reading sessions rather than a few minutes here or ere.
      -Jay

      Like

  2. Dale said,

    June 24, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    I haven’t read these books. Maybe someday, but they aren’t on my radar for this year anyway. I completely agree that the DNF rule doesn’t apply to series.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      June 25, 2012 at 9:55 pm

      I think if I do entire beyond book two, it willbe right away. I can’t let the series lie fallow for a year like I did between books one and two.
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

