June Reading – The Month Ahead

As always, it’s hard to believe a new month is upon me “already,” but it is a fact I must deal with. 🙂

I had a likely record-breaking reading month in May, finishing ten books. True, many were shorter than my usual reads, and I had started a couple the month before, but nonetheless I consider it a good month, at least by my humble standards.

So, does this mean I can slack off in June? Hardly! I have many books I want to read this month. Two are for book club meetings so I’ll start with them:

1. The Painted Veil by Somerset Maugham

20120602-110924.jpg

I’ve actually already started this one and passed the halfway point this morning. Is been on my TBR list for quite awhile, and since I learned that the Carmel (north Indianapolis) Library book discussion group was meeting next week on it, I finally took the plunge. Liking it a lot so far, and not sure how it will end…

2. Bagombo Snuff Box by Kurt Vonnegut

20120602-110934.jpg

The book club of the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library will be meeting on June 28th to discuss this short story collection which was published in 1999. Most of the stories were written in the 1950s and I hear he even re-wrote or re-worked three of em for this book. Another collection of Vonnegut stories, Welcome to the Monkey House, was my favorite book of those I read in 2010, so I’m really looking forward to working my way through these.

3. Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

Yes, it’s time I picked up this series again – especially since my friend Edie is putting me to shame by tearing through the first four and a half books in just a few weeks. 🙂 In fact, it’s funny to ponder how often I have been led to read something due to “peer pressure” like this. Probably happens more than I’d initially guess… Anyway, I sometimes miss the direwolves and the compelling young characters in this series and look forward to rejoining them.

20120602-110914.jpg

4. The Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomatox by John C. Waugh

This is a “leftover” from my 2010 Civil War Reading Project that I’ve always wanted to get back to. I read the first 25 pages or so this morning and will see it through to its finish this time.

20120602-110904.jpg

Other contenders: Panther in the Sky by James Alexander Thom (I admit to being a little daunted by the length of this book, BUT if I can read George R.R. Martin…); American Gods by Neil Gaiman (been on my TBR list for quite awhile now – this could be the month); A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle (kind of listening to this on audio off an on at work, but can’t usually pay it enough attention that way, unless I’m doing really routine, drudgery-laden tasks, which I don’t have enough of at the office); finally, a book I just read about this morning on Jade’s blog, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (outside of my normal reading pattern, but very popular among book bloggers, and I trust Jade, who liked it. Might be one of those, “let’s see what all the fuss is about” reads)

Well, that’s about it for me. What about YOU?? Have you read any of the above books (or authors) and did you like them? Most importantly, what will you be reading in June???

20120602-110831.jpg

20120602-110840.jpg

20120602-110853.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    June 3, 2012 at 8:54 am

    The Painted Veil sounds great. I read Of Human Bondage when I was in high school. I don’t remember much about it. I look forward to hearing what Daughter of Smoke and Bone is like. In June, I’m going to read The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. It’s the first in a series called The Mortal Instruments. They are my oldest daughter’s favorites and she’s been trying to get me to read them. From the cover of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, they look like they are in the same general “genre”.

    I also want to read The People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks and Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein. I have biographies of both Jack London and Rudyard Kipling, but for some reason I’m not in the mood to read them. Maybe later in the year.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      June 3, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      Hi Dale,

      Which London biography are you planning to read? I found so many when I was researching/looking for one for my 2012 Project: Author Biographies.

      I’m sure you’d like The Painted Veil, which I finished yesterday. I was unable to guess where it was headed – pretty much throughout the book.

      I’m looking forward to trying the YA book. The heroine has blue hair – I have a weakness for that 🙂 I think I’ve encountered Cassandra Clare’s series on other book blogs and will look forward to your thoughts on it.

      My Dad was a Heinlein fan, but I’ve only read a short story or two by him.

      -Jay

      Like

      • Dale said,

        June 3, 2012 at 9:43 pm

        The book I have is “Jack London” by Earl Labor. He is one of the editors of the short story collection I have. It’s not very long, but it looks more “academic” in nature as opposed to general interest. Not sure which one I would consider myself!

        Like

  2. Dale said,

    June 4, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I started the Earle Labor book last night. Interesting insights, but it apparently isn’t really a biography but more of a literary analysis. Not exactly what I was looking for but it’s short so I’ll finish it. He references an autobiography by London called “John Barleycorn”. I haven’t seen it, but sounds interesting. I’ve seemed to find that there are both pros and cons to reading autobiographies vs. biographies.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      June 4, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      Here’s a link to a list I found online: http://london.sonoma.edu/Essays/londonbio.html
      I prefer the bios more about the actual life of the author than an analysis of all his works. I’ve read four this year (yes, I’m already a month behind in my 2012 project). My favorite is the one I just finished about Edgar Allan Poe, but I think it had too LITTLEabout the works. A delicat ebalance for sure…
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

