2 Comments

  1. Dale said,

    April 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Hey Jay! I haven’t read a lot of Chekhov. I always remember The Black Monk as being one of my favorite short stories from our book group. I think I need an anthology like yours. I’m really getting into reading short stories on a regular basis. And after reading We Make A Life By What We Give, I’m liking essays just as much. I’ve gotten several books of essays, now, on my list. I guess essays are to nonfiction as short stories are to fiction.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      April 17, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      Hi Dale,
      Half Price books has been a gold mine for me for short story anthologies. I have at least half a dozen THICK ones and I won’t run out of short stories anytime soon. Of course, there are duplicates but not enough to lose any sleep over.

      I think London & Kipling (who you have helped rekindle my interest in. Thank you) are also masters of the form.
      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

