My Blogging Friends

I’ve been wanting to write a brief post recommending a few blogs that some of my “friends in real life” have been writing. Since another one has just been launched, the time now seems right. I’ll take them from oldest to youngest…

1. “Ramblings”

This blog is authored by Scott, a friend and classmate of my youth who is now a veterinarian. Largely biographical, Scott’s blog deals primarily with reminiscences of his growing up in Indianapolis. It is also my Mom’s favorite blog. 🙂 She says his stories remind her of the intros and “out”ros from that television show, The Waltons.

Scott is also, like me, a lover and keen observer of the natural world. My favorite of his posts is a story of a youthful misadventure that I took part in. (That particular post may be found here.) Though not a book blogger like most of my readers, he has a very nice writing style that I think many would enjoy.

2. “Shame & Pride

Only four installments thus far (with hopefully more to come!) in this blog written by another childhood friend, Paul, who became a naval aviator. Though born in the USA, Paul’s parents were immigrants from Estonia, and he was the first bilingual person I ever met. (I was so impressed that he spoke a separate language at home & to his mother on the phone; I mean, he was just a kid like me – how did he ever learn TWO languages!?).

The first few posts deal with the story of his parent’s “escape” from the Soviet-controlled Baltic State, and Paul’s coming of age in Indianapolis, and the “culture clash” the older members of his family overcame. A good story. His posts are best read in order. Start with Part I.

3. “Mirror With Clouds

The author of this almost brand new blog is a former co-worker of mine and, along with myself and another friend, Sonja, one of the three founders of a long-lived – but sadly recently discontinued – book club, “The Indy Reading Coalition.” Though he relocated to Ohio shortly after our book club’s launch, he still was a regular participant via speaker phone and, later, Skype.

His taste in books frequently overlaps with mine, and I know he will be a welcome addition to the book blogging community. Fellow book bloggers, please check out his site and help welcome him to our wonderful community!

What about you, readers? Do you have any blogs by your friends IRL that you’d recommend?

3 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    January 7, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Thank you so much for the shout out! I feel extremely honored. I, too, have been enjoying the story of Paul’s family. I can well remember those phone conversations in Estonian with his mother. As always, my best wishes to your mom.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 10, 2012 at 7:48 am

      Maybe I never should have linked to the story of the great maritime disaster. A co-worker who subscribes to my blog was laughing with (at?) me over that story. 🙂

      Like

  2. January 8, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks for the plug, Jay! I’m looking forward to continuing our book conversations!
    – Dale

    Like


Leave a Reply

