Unofficial 2011 Book Stats

Last December I wrote a post with the main idea of identifying how I came to read what I read in 2010. Did I “have to” read it for a book club? Did a friend recommend it? Did I hear about it in the book blogosphere, or in the newspaper? Did I pick it for personal reasons? The answers were illuminating and in a few cases surprising. This morning I took a peek at one of my favorite blogs, Melody’s Fingers and Prose, and was reminded to try this again. Here goes…

Total number of books read: 57
Four more than last year, but still “about one per week.” I don’t count short stories here, either, of which I read close to seventy in 2011, largely due to my short story reading project.

Other “volume” statistics:
Fiction 40, Non-Fiction 17
E-books 40, hardcover & paperback 16, audio 1
Male authors 44, female authors 13
Published in the 21st century 28, 20th 22 , 19th6 , 4th century (BC!)-1

How I chose them:

Personal choice: 15.
Much higher than last year, and I think I’m happy about that(?)

Discovered via or recommended by other bloggers: 10
Glad that this number is bigger than last year.

Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library Book Club: 9
How is this not eleven? We met eleven times. I must have miscounted, or I forgot to write some down for my list.

My personal book club: 7
We disbanded in October after an almost six-year run. This year’s book club readings included a short story month and a ghost story month, which added about 15 short stories to my total.

Recommended by others (non-bloggers only): 6

“Discovered in the newspaper or conventional media: 6

Read for other book clubs (where I am not a regular member): 4

Short Story Reading project: 52
One per week!

Started but not (yet) finished: 4
I still have hopes of finishing all of these.

What about you? What led you to read the books you read in 2011. Do you have plans to change up your sources in 2012? I’d love to hear…

9 Comments

  1. Jade said,

    January 2, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Oh I love how you broke this down! I started a new excel spreadsheet for my books of 2012 to categorize kind of like you did. Us book geeks are kind of ocd arent we? Lets see, most anticipated books of 2012 would be The Twelve by Justin Cronin, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver and Insurgent by Veronica Roth but really I’m just looking forward to making a dent in my TBR pile! Great set of reading books this year for you…cant wait to see what you read in 2012!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 4, 2012 at 8:26 am

      Ha! You are right. We often are. But it’s not like I have a spreadsheet template I could loan you or anything… Oh, wait, I do keep track of mine in a spreadsheet… Nerd Alert! 🙂

      Like

  2. Stacey S said,

    January 2, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    I read 52 books in 2011…so I averaged a book a week even though some took longer than others and some were probably read in one day. Like Jade I might have to break down mine a little more for 2012 as well.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 4, 2012 at 8:27 am

      Hi Stacey,
      That’s a good Year’s work! Did you ever get to one of the Vonnegut books you were considering?
      -Jay

      Like

  3. Jillian ♣ said,

    January 3, 2012 at 8:22 am

    I’m running a Started But Not Yet Finished book challenge. You should join. 🙂

    (No hard feelings if you don’t like community challenges! Just sharing.) 😉

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 4, 2012 at 8:30 am

      I only do public challenges that I “would do anyway.” This passes that test. Heading over to sign up… 🙂

      Like

  4. Megan said,

    January 4, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I love this breakdown. I kept a list of my books from 2011, though it wasn’t quite as detailed as this one. I’ve been working on trying to figure out how to put it all together into a blog post. I think I’ll use yours for guidance!

    Like

  5. Melody said,

    January 5, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    (Thanks for the shout out Jay!) Almost 70 short stories! Good job! That obv. has to count for something, but how you count it I’ve no idea. I ended up counting each of my novellas as a book read…which even though they’re longer than most short stories I still felt a little silly counting each one. And then there’s The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor (that I’m STILL working on) that I’ll probably count as one book simply because it’s bound as one book. Silliness.

    Anyhow, like you mentioned (somewhere?) I am trying to take more time this year to make note of who recommended the books on my wishlist. We’ll see how that goes.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 6, 2012 at 8:34 am

      Hi Melody,
      Yeah, the novellas are a tough call, but I would rationalize including them since you likely read a lot of books that are much longer than average as well. I just counted King’s Full Dark, No Stars as one, although it was really four novellas – but they were in the same bound book, which somehow makes a difference to my nerd sensibilities. Your novella challenge remains one of my favorite ones by a fellow blogger, and probably had me logging as much lurking time as any.

      I just realized too that my short stories were probably closer to one hundred, as a couple of my 57 reads were short story collections. (Flannery O’Connor was one of them)

      P.S. Way to put my stats to shame with Your graphs & charts. 🙂 Rest assured I, as a heavy user of excel in my day job, will respond with vigor when I do my stats next time…

      Like


Leave a Reply

