Can’t Read or Write…

I’m in a total literary funk. I’m in the reading-writing-blogging doldrums again. About to resort to extreme measures and put a longboat over the side and try to tow myself out…

I skipped both of my book clubs last week. Too busy at the office to escape for the midday meeting at the Vonnegut Library (hadn’t finished the book anyway), then was planning to attend my final meeting (I announced my ‘retirement’ a couple weeks ago)of my personal book club, but when it turned out I would be the only attendee (in person) in addition to the host, I suggested we just cancel, and we did. It was “a good run” for me as far as book clubs go. Just over five years, 50+ books and roughly the same number of short stories.

I’m sure I won’t be able to resist “trying again” with a new book club at some point, but I doubt it will be soon.

5 Comments

  1. Melody said,

    October 24, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Well that’s no fun. Actually, I skipped one of my book club meetings last week too. It’s a a sort of half-hearted group–typically only 2 people actually finish the book, and the books tend to be simpler reads anyhow. Sometimes it can be more of a burden than an enjoyment.

    I hope you find your way out of the literary mulligrubs soon. 🙂

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 24, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks for the comment – and for making me look up “mulligrubs!” You stumped my Merriam Webster App, and I had to resort to google… 🙂

      Book clubs… In the immortal words of Norm Peterson: “Can’t live with ’em, pass the beer nuts.”

      Like

  2. Chuck said,

    October 24, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I thought the KVML book club was this Thursday (10/27).

    Like

    • Jay said,

      October 25, 2011 at 8:17 am

      Hi Chuck,
      Yes, looks like you’re right. I could’ve sworn I remembered them saying last time they were switching to the third thursday, but – upon further review – wonder if I didn’t realize they were talking about November. Sadly, I’m out of town this thursday and won’t be able to make it anyway. (I did finish the book, however!)
      -Jay

      Like

  3. Alex said,

    October 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I’m glad you that in the end it was a good run 🙂 When I’m on a writing and reading slump I always resort to movies and series. Eventually, one will remind me of a book and get me to read again.

    Like


Leave a Reply

