Dostoevsky’s “The Idiot” – thoughts on Part II (and Nook app issues…)

I finished reading part two of this novel for Allie’s read-along on Sunday. On Memorial Day, however, “disaster” struck. I open up my Nook app on my iPad and none of my highlighting and notes from yesterday are there. This was, needless to say, very annoying. I’m not sure why/how this could have happened. I did notice when opening the app later in the evening, it initially acted like my library was “empty” (what?!) so I closed and reopened and there were my books. “Phew!” on that at least. I don’t sync my iPad (which includes a backup step) that often so now I have concerns about losing all “my brilliant highlighting.” Has anyone out there who uses the Nook app ever had this happen before? Any thoughts on how to prevent a recurrence?

But anyway, back to The Idiot…

“I declare, this is a lunatic asylum!”

So says Mrs. Yepanchin near the end of part two. I must say I often found myself in complete agreement with her. What stood out to me in this part of the book was that, while part I ended in a mad dash of men who were after the hand of Natalia Phillipovna, part II seemed to contain a whole flock of men who wanted a piece of Prince Myshkin’s “fortune.” I began to think of the common phrase “It’s a man’s world!” (certainly more true in the 19th century than today) and wondered, what is it that most men want the most? Why, women and money (or power) are most often near the top of the list. I don’t know if Dostoevsky is making a comment on this in the first two parts of The Idiot or not.

In part II we also find our hero, Prince Myshkin, suffering an epileptic fit. In this case it happened at a fortuitous time as it saved him from violence at the hands of the scoundrel, Rogozhin. I found Dostoevsky’s thoughts and descriptions of the Prince’s “state of mind” in the time leading up to the attack fascinating. Did he have personal experience with mental illness or epileptic episodes? Perhaps one of my fellow read-alongers will know…

Later, Mrs. Yepanchin also offers up, “I certainly shall go mad if I stay here!” I, however, think I shall “stay here” and continue reading this novel…

Sent from my iPad

20110531-072957.jpg

1 Comment

  1. June 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Dostoevsky did suffer from epilepsy. The detailed, quasi-religious description of an impending attack of “the falling disease” is one of the most compelling passages in Part 2. I like your observation about the parallels between the end of Part 1 and the end of Part 2. I made a list in my notebook of all the monetary offers Nastasya received in Part 1–it was a long list.

    Like


Leave a Reply

