New Book Purchases

One of my resolutions for 2011 was to NOT buy more new books than the total number of books I read this year. How am I doing? Well, so far it’s neck and neck, with my book purchases having fallen a few books behind until a recent trip to Half Price Books…

It’s always a dangerous operation for me to enter a bookstore. Dangerous both to my wallet and to my schedule (I can seemingly browse indefinitely). A couple Fridays ago I was forced to visit Half Price Books. My book club’s April selection, I Capture the Castle, was not available at Barnes and Noble.com, nor on iBooks. I searched the local Barnes & Noble store inventories online, and none nearby claimed to have a copy in stock. So I called the closest location of Half Price Books and was answered with the welcome news that they had “a couple copies” available and that they would leave one at the register for me. This led to an after work visit.

Once I crossed the threshold though, I realized I could not simply walk straight to the cashier and ask for my book, pay the bill and leave. I’m not made out of stone, after all!  Anyway, I first decided to check out what they had in the way of Anthony Trollope books, wondering if they even would have any – I mean, since I just discovered him recently, surely no one else had either(!)  Funny how egocentric the mind works sometimes, isn’t it?  Well, it turns out they had quite a few, so I bought two of them:  The Warden and Dr. Thorne, both being among “The Barsetshire Novels” – of which I’ve recently read The Small House at Allington.  So here’re two more for the TBR pile.

I also picked up – on the recommendation of a friend in Florida with whom I’ve recently reconnected – a collection of P.G. Wodehouse’s writings called The Most of P.G. Wodehouse.  I intend this to supply some comic relief to my reading.

And finally, on my way out, I even remember to pick up Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle, which I finished just in time for my book club meeting last thursday.  🙂

Not a bad haul, wouldn’t you say?

7 Comments

  1. JaneGS said,

    May 2, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    So did you like I Capture the Castle? I love it and have given several copies as gifts to friends over the years. I understand the danger of being led into temptation. I think buying books is the sign of unmitigated optimism–there’s always time and money for new books 🙂

    I’m also discovering Trollope and read The Warden last winter and purchased a copy of Barchester Towers for later this year.

    Enjoy your haul, you optimist, you!

    Like

    • Jay said,

      May 3, 2011 at 6:33 am

      Hi Jane!

      I liked I Capture the Castle well enough, but I had heard so many people praise it that my expectations were probably unfairly high, and I was consequently a little disappointed.

      Ive really enjoyed my little exposure thus far to Trollope and am eager for more.

      -Jay

      Like

      • JaneGS said,

        May 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm

        Yes, it’s always too bad when too high expectations mar what could have been a perfectly enjoyable reading experience.

        Like

  2. Alex said,

    May 3, 2011 at 4:43 am

    Your book club is mostly women, isn’t it? You can tell by the choices 🙂 I liked I Capture the Castle, but not as much as most people. It has reached almost a cult status in some circles.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      May 3, 2011 at 6:35 am

      Hi Alex,

      Yes, my book club IS mostly women. Aren’t all book clubs?? 🙂

      I have to confess, though, that I was the one in our club who added I Capture the Castle to our “bookshelf” – but that was only after hearing it praised so often in the book blogosphere…

      -Jay

      Like

  3. May 3, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I’m really looking forward to Trollope’s Barsetshire series.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      May 4, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      I liked The Small House at Allington immensely and have started a friend in on reading it now too. Trollope was a new discovery for me this year but I think this is the beginning of a beautiful (reader/author) relationship… 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

