May Reading: The Month Ahead

Well, April was not a stellar month for me as far as blogging frequency goes, but I got a decent amount of reading done.  In May I will try to do better about blogging, but here’s what I have on tap to read this month:

Desert Spear by Peter Brett

I feel like I’m kind of cheating here, since I had hoped to finish this in April, BUT… I have just over 100 pages to go, and the story is really picking up.  This is the second book of a trilogy (book three due out sometime this year? <fingers crossed>).  The first of the trilogy was The Warded Man (known as The Painted Man outside of America).  A fantastic (post-apocalyptic?) world populated by great characters and plenty of ‘demons’ to be killed.  A great adventure.

Life by Keith Richards

This is my book club’s May selection.  The biography of the iconic guitarist from The Rolling Stones promises to be entertaining reading, and I can’t wait to get started.  Our club has also read Eric Clapton’s autobiography, which was not surprisingly met with mixed reviews by my eclectic group…

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I’m participating in Allie’s read along over at A Literary Odyssey.  I actually cracked the book this afternoon, reading the introduction to my 1969 edition.  I’m supposed to have Part I (about 175 pages) read by the middle of May for the first of four scheduled posts in this read along (it encompasses both May and June).  Can’t wait to read this one either.  I’ve already read Crime and Punishment years ago and felt it was quite good.

We Make a Life by What We Give by Dr. Richard Gunderman

Late in March, I went to a lecture by the author (who also happens to be a former college roommate of mine!) and was quite impressed and moved  by his thoughts on philanthropy and ethics.  It was somewhat of a reunion for me as well, since I hadn’t seen my old friend in many years.  The book is actually a collection of essays, several of which I’ve read already, but I need to give it my full attention for a few days and finish it.  It is very thought-provoking and full of ‘deep thoughts’ – and I don’t mean the Jack Handy kind…

The Fear by Peter Godwin

I’m about a third of the way through this book already (somehow I got entangled in April, reading more books at one time that probably ever before; I’m trying to right my ship in May).  It’s the disturbing story of Zimbabwe under the despotic rule of Robert Mugabe.  I first heard of this book on NPR and “just had to read it…”  Oh, and I’ll also have a Vonnegut title for the KVML Book Club meeting on May 26th.  I’m not sure which book we’re reading this month though, as I had to leave the last meeting a little early.

That’s it.  (Isn’t that enough!?)  How about you?  What are you reading in May?  (You know I can only read about five books a month, so I need to live, er… read vicariously through others to get enough of a fix…)

7 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    May 2, 2011 at 5:38 am

    I think you’re the first blogger I follow who will read Life, so I’m especially looking forward to your thoughts on that one. Wanted an opinion before getting it for myself 🙂 I wonder if it will be more than sex, drugs and rock&roll.

    Like

  2. Jay said,

    May 3, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Hi Alex,
    I wonder about that too. But even if it’s not, it’s hard to go wrong with sex, drugs and rock-n-roll! 🙂
    -Jay

    Like

  3. Chuck said,

    May 3, 2011 at 11:40 am

    For the KVML book club, we decided to continue discussing Slaughterhouse Five next month.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      May 3, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      Thanks for the info, Chuck. That’s a great idea!
      -Jay

      Like

  4. Dale Barthauer said,

    May 3, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I am currently reading Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts. I’m not sure how to describe it, but it is somewhat of a crime thriller set in India and told through the eyes of an Australian bank robber who escapes from prison. He hides out in the slums of Bombay. It’s not bad so far, but it’s very long (900+ pages). I’ll be finishing The Divine Comedy this month hopefully. I only have Paradisio left. I also have Life by Keith Richards to read and am looking forward to it. After The Divine Comedy, my “required” reading will be Paradise Lost by John Milton. I’m thinking of starting War and Peace sometime in July and giving myself the rest of the year to read it. Just to say I did. I bet The Idiot will be great. The Brothers Karamazov was very enjoyable.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      May 4, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      Hi Dale,
      Wherever did you hear about that one (Shantaram)? Sounds interesting though. You’re really putting me to shame with your “epic poetry” reading this year. I downloaded the Divine Comedy but STILL haven’t started it. Same for War and Peace. I am looking forward to the Dostoevsky, however.
      -Jay
      PS it was great having you skyped in to the book club meeting last week. We should’ve tried that a long time ago

      Like

      • Dale Barthauer said,

        May 7, 2011 at 6:41 pm

        Yes! It was great seeing everyone when I skyped in! A friend of mine from high school that I caught up with on facebook recommended Shantaram. I don’t know if it’s really going to rank up there as a favorite or not, but it’s definitely sucked me in. I feel like I’ve been living in Bombay for the last two weeks. The main character is intriguing…an outlaw with a heart of gold.

        Like


Leave a Reply

