Three quick hits…

Next up: The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

A busy weekend prevented me from reading my weekly short story already, but I did draw a card from the deck, getting the five of hearts, which directs me to read Washington Irving’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  I know I’ve read this before, but it may have been almost 20 years ago now.  I’m looking forward to revisiting it in more depth now that I have a couple more decades of reading under my belt.  Any Washington Irving fans out there?

Andy Rooney probably considers me the enemy

A co-worker pointed out to me that Andy Rooney’s bit at the end of 60 Minutes last night was about e-readers, and how he prefers books.  (Everyone who’s surprised, please raise their hands.  Anyone?!?)  Anyway, here is a link to watch his piece.  Nothing too surprising there for me.  I agree and appreciate there is comfort in being surrounded by books in your office or workspace (I am too – at my home “office” anyway) but I love the accessibility AND the portability of lugging around the equivalent of a few crates of books with you at all times.  I think he didn’t like that one of his older efforts was a free eBook now, too.  Oh well, he gets paid to be a crotchety old man, doesn’t he?  Anyone catch this last night?  Or what do you think after watching the link to the video?

I started reading The Help

This is my book club’s book for March.  It’s a bit longer so I thought I’d better get started.  My first thoughts are that it’ll go fairly quick, BUT I hate (I absolutely HATE) reading books with non-standard English dialects spelled out (like saying “Law..” when the speaker means “Lord…” or “instead a” rather than “instead of.”  I guess the dialogue wouldn’t read true otherwise, but it feels like I’m playing a musical instrument that’s been tuned wrong, and will have to make an adjustment back to “normal” English when I’m done.  Maybe this is me being a literary snob.  Does this bother anyone else?

-Jay

10 Comments

  1. Melody said,

    March 7, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I know a lot of people who cannot stand written dialect, so you definitely aren’t alone. I tend to like it if it’s done well, it’s so much fun to read aloud (assuming, of course, you are alone–or only in the presence of adoring children or pets).

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 8, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      I don’t have any of those. 🙂 This is the book that I downloaded a sample of the audio version, and after finishing the sample thought I would struggle listening to the actual spoken dialect for so many pages as well. I should probably just “stop whining and start reading!”
      -Jay

      Like

  2. Alex said,

    March 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    But without the dialects clearly visible, how would we know how the people speak?

    Would “‘How are you, Love’ – he asked in a deep Irish accent” be enough to actually bring it to life?

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 8, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      You make an excellent point, and I am in agreement. It just is difficult for me to read… (he said resignedly) 🙂
      -Jay

      Like

  3. JaneGS said,

    March 8, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I am not a fan of eye-dialect myself, which is kinda weird because I love Gaskell and most of her dialogue is in dialect, but anyway that is why I decided to listen to an unabridged Help instead of reading it. Sometimes I really do prefer the audio version, and this is one of them.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 13, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      Hi Jane,
      THanks for the comment, and thanks for teaching me a new word, “eye-dialect”. It’s funny, as I’ve moved on to my next book, Michael Faber’s Under The Skin, and “all was well” until about 50 pages in I got into some Scottish Highlands eye-dialect! Stop the madness! 🙂
      -Jay

      Like

  4. Ms. Dawn said,

    March 11, 2011 at 12:02 am

    It always bothers me at first…but, by the time I’ve bonded with a book, I’ve bonded with the dialect, too, which helps me remember the time or area in which the book takes place. Unfortunately, by mid-book my own thoughts form in the same dialect I’m reading, when I’m NOT reading…THAT irritates me! lol

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 13, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Hi Ms. Dawn,
      Thanks for the comment and the visit. Yes, that would be a problem! 🙂 You’re right, though, eventually I get used to it as a reader and it’s not as cumbersome as it is in the early going.
      -Jay

      Like

  5. March 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I just finished “The Help” a month ago for bookclub and I entirely agree with you! The dialect threw me off every time.

    In the end I didn’t like it 😦 but maybe it’ll get better for you. I thought the issues it focused on were interesting but the characters themselves fell flat for me.

    Like

    • Jay said,

      March 13, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      Hi Erica,

      I’m interested to see how my book club liked this one too. I liked it well enough, I suppose. I kind of agree with you as far as some of the characters, especially Hilly Holbrook – for me, anyway – I expected to pack a little more punch as a villain before the end, but she kind of just fell apart…

      Coincidentally, I had just read To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time a little over a week ago, and as you recall, The Help refers to that (far superior) book several times. Maybe I would’ve thought more of this one if it didn’t suffer by comparison with that classic of similar subject matter…

      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

