TBR list hijacking reported

Dateline: Indianapolis/(Bibliophilopolis)
Local TBR residents are in an uproar after the latest in a series of TBR hijackings. Local reader and blogger “Jay” has once again blatantly ignored the rights of the books that are currently on his TBR list in favor of a book he just heard of this week. Fortunately, the immediate damage was over quickly as the interloping book in question, Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coehlo, is short and was read and gone from the TBR list in under 48 hours. The psychological damage may take longer to heal, however, as many have pointed out that this is not the first time this has happened to Jay’s TBR list.

Owen Meany (the title character from John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany) was perhaps the most disturbed by this incident. Having spent almost a year on Jay’s TBR list and – just in the past week – finally gotten started (up to page 162) was unceremoniously pushed aside in favor of the Coehlo book. “I MEAN, IT’S NOT FAIR!” Meany was quoted as saying, “I’VE SPENT FOREVER ON THAT LIST, AND IT PROBABLY WOULD’VE BEEN EVEN LONGER IF HIS BOOK CLUB HADN’T PICKED MY BOOK! AND WHAT DOES HE PICK INSTEAD? SOME ‘SMUT BOOK’ JUST BECAUSE ‘SOME GIRL IN A BAR’ RECOMMENDED IT? COME ON!”

Jay could not be reached for comment, although a spokesman for his estate commented that Mr. Meany’s book would still be read – and be read in time for the book club meeting on the 27th, thus making any agreement or understanding between Jay and Mr. Meany properly fulfilled. Asked if Jay would be reading other books by Coehlo, the spokesman replied “I’m really not at liberty to say,” adding later that Jay planned a blog post about “Eleven Minutes” in the very near future and that, after reading, he was sure the citizens of Bibliophilopolis would understand.

Sent from my iPad

4 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    January 15, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Absolutely hilarious! And also, A Prayer for Owen Meany is quickly becoming a new favorite! I’m only on page 205 or so.

    Like

  2. Jay said,

    January 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I agree, Dale. (not that my post was hilarious, but about APFOM) I finished chapter four this afternoon – about page 200 in my edition – and am really, really enjoying all the wit and humor. I’m not going very fast, but it has certainly been an enjoyable read thus far.
    -Jay

    Like

  3. January 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Jay,
    It’s been awhile since I last read ‘A Prayer for Owen Meany’, but I still got a kick out of your dialogue in ALL CAPITALS! Nicely done.

    My outdated, minor thoughts here:
    http://eclectic-indulgence.blogspot.com/2007/08/end-of-prayer-and-owen-meany.html

    As for Coelho, I would like to know what yout thought of ‘Eleven Minutes’. I stopped with Coelho after ‘By the River Piedra I sat Down and Wept’ because it was very poorly done, IMO. I strongly prefer ‘the Alchemist’ as well as ‘Veronika Decides to Die.’

    Like

    • Jay said,

      January 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks for the comment – and appreciating the all caps dialog. That was thrown in there to find out who’s actually read APFOM. I enjoyed your (spoiler-free, thanks!) review. I’ve read about a hundred more pages now and am roughly halfway through, and it continues to make a big impression on me.

      I hope to finish up writing a post about Eleven Minutes tonight. I’m finding it hard to write about a book that has such salacious subject matter… I did really like it though.

      Like


Leave a Reply

