Now Reading: Prince Otto by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is a lesser known work by RLS, and I admit I’m reading it for a couple rather silly reasons: first, it’s a short work (only 181 pages in my edition), and I’ve promised myself to read a few more ‘shorter’ books this year to inflate my total count; second, I was intrigued by the title. “Otto” is a nickname and “handle” of mine in the Buzztime Trivia Network, so I figured I couldn’t NOT read this book when I heard of it.

I’m not quite 25% of the way into it thus far, and I must confess that – although as always I am enjoying RLS’s writing style – not enough is actually “happening” in this book to recommend it. At least not thus far…

What about you? Have you heard of or read this (relatively) unknown book? What about other books by Stevenson.

1 Comment

  1. January 6, 2011 at 10:19 am

    I enjoy RL Stephenson, but if you’re expecting to be tremendously enlightened, I think you’ll be disappointed. I really enjoyed both “Dr. Jekkyl and Mr. Hyde” and “Treasure Island.” His short stories are also interesting, but like most short story works… some hit home and some are completely forgotten. I think I summed it up best in 2008…

    “Robert Louis Stevenson has a way of making you sit on the edge of your seat, reading as quickly as possible to get to the ending. The moral is often quite simple and often non-noteworthy, but the story in itself captivates. Adventure is never lacking and intrigue, mysticism and fables give the reader something that lasts in the mind.”

    Here are my reviews:
    http://eclectic-indulgence.blogspot.com/2008/12/other-stories-rl-stevenson.html
    http://eclectic-indulgence.blogspot.com/2008/12/beach-of-falesa-rl-stevenson.html
    http://eclectic-indulgence.blogspot.com/2010/12/treasure-island-robert-louis-stevenson.html

    Like


Leave a Reply

