The reading month ahead: January 2011

What am I going to read next month? Hopefully a LOT. 🙂 I also have a few books to finish up from “December” too: (Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut – almost done, the Class of 1846: From West point to Appomattox – barely started, and Stephen King’s Full Dark, no Stars – one of four stories read). Then comes January…

First, as the month’s “Featured Attraction,” my primary book club is reading John irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany, which I have long wanted to read, then there’s The Desert Spear by Peter Brett – the sequel to a surprising favorite from this year, The Warded Man. I still haven’t settled on a clear 2011 reading “project” yet, but I’m leaning toward Project: Epic Poetry (“PEP” for short). If I go with this, I may read The Epic of Gilgamesh to get started. I also want to read (soon) Sir Walter Scott’s The Antiquary and Robert Louis Stevenson’s Prince Otto. I suppose what I really need to do is come up with a decent TBR list and stick to it. Oh, and there’ll be a Vonnegut book in January too, just not sure yet which one the KVMLBC is reading yet.

How about you? What are your reading plans for January … and beyond…?

Sent from my iPad

1 Comment

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    December 29, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    My plan for 2011 is similar to yours, Jay. I want to read The Iliad and The Odyssey. And perhaps Paradise Lost and The Divine Comedy (Is Inferno a part of that?). Those will probably take me all year.

    P.S. It’s snowing on your blog! Cool!

    Like


Leave a Reply

