December Reading- The Month Ahead

I have a lot of reading “obligations” this month. So many I’m not sure if I’ll get done with them all. I am currently working on a book called The Warded Man by Peter Brett. Yet another in a recent bent of “post-apocalyptic/dystopian” novels for me. I’m a little over halfway through this one and am enjoying it immensely. I heard of this book through a fellow blogger.

I also have a Project: Civil War book I’m just getting started with, The Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox. This is my eleventh Civil War book of the year, and I don’t see how I’ll get through it AND another one to make it to my goal of twelve for the year. Another incomplete project .

As far as book club books go, my main club, The Indy Reading Coalition, is reading Greg Iles’s The Quiet Game. This is “due” by 12/23 and rather long too. I really need to knuckle down and get reading if I hope to finish it. Then, on top of all that, the KVMLBC (Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library Book Club) is meeting on 12/16 to discuss Player Piano. I had to miss last month’s meeting due to some training classes for work, and I may have to miss this one to as next week we are implementing the system that the training classes were for. A curse on system conversions and upgrades! :-). I plan to read the book nonetheless, as I did with Mother Night (the KVMLBC’s November selection).

Oh, and I also just bought an interesting, very short book titled The Bed of Procrustes by Nassem Nicholas Taleb. A great book of thought-provoking aphorisms. Only 68 pages, but very deep.

What about you? What are you reading this month? Do you find you get more reading in during the holiday season or less?

6 Comments

  1. Ann Marie said,

    December 7, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I recently started a TBR list. I have found so many books I want to read, it is the only way I can keep track of them. The only problem is that it is growing faster than I can read them! Fortunately, I don’t have any “must” reads on this month’s list. Already read the book club book and that is my only obligation. I have on my list for this month The Warded Man and the new Tom Clancy book. I’ll see what else I get through. I have seen a few others mentioned by people on your blog that are going to be added to the TBR list. Your blog is turning out to be a great resource for new books!

    I am not sure whether I read more or less during the holidays because until last month, I have never kept track of my reading. I guess I will have to figure that out.

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      December 7, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      Hi Ann Marie,
      Yes, that is the fate of most TBR lists it seems. They grow faster than we can keep up with them. 🙂

      I think you will like The Warded Man – especially a couple of the female characters. I wish I could find the blog where I first learned about it. I thought I bookmarked it but can’t find it again so that I can give the blogger proper credit.

      I discovered a lot of my favorite reads this year via book bloggers – the Stieg Larsson books and the Hunger Games trilogy just to name a few.
      -Jay

      Like

  2. Alex said,

    December 8, 2010 at 6:04 am

    I;ve noticed that my “book commitments” have been increasing since I started to blog, so I decided to buy the Moleskin Passion – Book Edition to keep track of everything. It’s actually working out very well.

    Do you keep a list/calendar of what you must read and by when?

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      December 8, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      Hi Alex!

      I browsed through the Moleskin products somewhere on line several months ago but haven’t taken a plunge and purchased any. I may check them out again now.

      I do have a “Rainman Spreadsheet” (that’s whay my friends call it, anyway – they like to tease me) where I track EVERYTHING in my life, and books have a couple columns of their own in one of the tabs of that document. I don’t really look too far ahead (not more than a month, generally) in what I “must” read, though. Blogging has had a way of “keeping me honest” about reading whay I say I’m planning to read, which I think has been a good thing in 2010.

      I also try to keep about half of my reading as “wild card” selections that are not part of any personal projects or book club obligations. Book blogging has led me to so many new books that I never have trouble filling my wild card spots. 🙂

      -Jay

      Like

  3. Jillian said,

    December 14, 2010 at 3:06 am

    The Class of 1846: From West Point to Appomattox sounds like a fascinating book. I love non-fiction, especially set in that era.

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      December 15, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      I’ve not gotten too far into it yet, Jillian, but I’m impressed so far. I’ve liked how it’s tied in with the biography of Stonewall Jackson that I read earlier this year too. Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

