Finished reading The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Yes, I’ve now read a “Zombie Book.” I saw an intriguing post on this book on another book blogger’s blog and thought I should give it a try. It’s another YA book, and I found it a quick and easy read. I wondered I would suffer “nightmares” populated by shuffling hordes of the undead after reading it, but that didn’t happen. Suspension of disbelief was almost impossible for this book too. I mean, if one lived in a fenced in compound, with zombies (or, in the parlance of this book, “The Unconsecrated”) constantly trying to claw their way in, I’m sure the constant stress would drive one mad and no “civilization” would be possible.

The book reminded me sometimes of Justin Cronin’s “The Passage” which I read earlier this year. I.e., a small band of survivors struggling on against the outside world, which has ‘turned zombie’ or ‘turned vampire.’ But all of this is just the backdrop for the story of Mary, a member of the village just coming of age and dealing with all the accompanying angst & choices involved. In her case, things are turned upside down by the death of her mother, the appearance of a girl from “outside,” and then the breach of the village’s defense by the hoard of the unconsecrated, forcing Mary and some companions to flee.

I read this book in just a couple of days, and certain passages were high entertainment of the thriller variety, with zombies closing in on our heroes several times allowing them – or most of them – to make narrow escapes. There’s a second book in the ‘series’ that I will likely read. (I’ve already downloaded it so, I guess that makes it even more likely). This book certainly wouldn’t be for everybody, but I enjoyed it for what it was.

1 Comment

  1. September 13, 2011 at 5:28 am

    […] 7. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan.  Another book outside of my usual genre, but an entertaining, diverting read for me.  Here’s what I had to say last year. […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

