Progress Report

Well, here it is almost the end of October already. I’ve read most of my required reading for the month, with the exception of having the second half of Cold Mountain yet to finish. Boy, is that book ever slow going for this reader!

To divert myself, I’ve begun reading Thomas Hardy’s Two on a Tower. It is proving to be a great story and I can’t wait to finish it and get something written on it for my fellow citizens of Bibliophilopolis. I read all the “major” Hardy novels years ago, and am very much enjoying my reintroduction to him via this book.

Upcoming for November, I plan to read another book related to the Civil War, about the West Point class of 1846, which included several key generals in the war. I also plan to read the November selection of my primary book club – P.T. Deuterman’s Darkside. That should be an easy, diverting read for me. I also have Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns in the queue. This is a borrowed book, so I’d like to get to it soon, and I really enjoyed the other book of his that I’ve read, The Kite Runner. I’ll also have another Vonnegut title assigned by the KVML book club, but I won’t find out what that one is until tomorrow, when we meet to discuss Welcome to the Monkey House. These books, along with finishing Two on a Tower, would give me a count of five for November, one better than my par score of four, and leaving me at 46 total for the year, where I’ll hopefully be able to get my par four in December to make 2010 my most prolific reading year to date. Hurrah!

What about you? Are any of these books on your to read list? Have you read any of them already? Let me know your thoughts or suggestions for future reads..

Sent from my iPad

3 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    October 27, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I read The Kite Runner a while ago and really liked it. I have never read A Thousand Splendid Suns but have heard it was good. I am still reading Frankenstein while fitting in HG Wells short stories. Frankenstein is fascinating! I didn’t realize Frankenstein’s monster was so articulate!

    Like

  2. stentorpub said,

    October 30, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Hi Dale,

    I remember being surprised by the “monster’s” erudition too. I guess this is what happens when your teachers are Goethe, Milton, and Plutarch!

    I’ll let you know what I think of A Thousand Splendid Sons when I finish it.

    -Jay

    Like

  3. Dale Barthauer said,

    October 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Yeah, or we’re used to the Hollywood version of the “monster” where he just makes grunting noises.

    Like


Leave a Reply

