Just Finished: Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

I hope to write an in depth post of my thoughts on this book later.  My book club is meeting to discuss it this Thursday, and I’m looking forward to hearing what other people thought of it.  I’ll share our reactions here online later.  For me, it brought back a lot of memories of my one Philosophy class in college (I was talked into it by my genius roommate – a pre-med double major in Biology & Philosophy. You do the math and guess which one of us was “lost” in the class…)

Well, maybe not “completely” lost as I was remembering some material from it during my reading of the Robert Pirsig novel.  Hume, Kant, etc. “blah, blah, blah…”  I’m reminded of an old comedy routine from Steve Martin where he says, “In philosophy, you learn just enough to really screw you up for the rest of your life.”  You know, I think there’s perhaps more than a kernel of truth in that…

(above: Pirsig & son)

Leave a Reply

