Two new book purchases…

You know, having a Nook ® has just made it too damn easy to spend money on books. After reading the Lincoln book yesterday, I was seized with an urge to own an electronic copy of The Arabian Nights (one of the few books that the young Lincoln reportedly had access to). I already own a nice, illustrated copy that my folks got me for Christmas one year.  I thought I’d look it up and assumed (correctly) that it would be free or very cheap.  I found a $.99 copy and downloaded it.  This felt little different than buying a new song on iTunes…

Anyway, it is the Richard Burton translation and nice to have with me on my iPad and Nook ® “at all times.”

The other purchase is a science fiction book, Sparrow by Maria Doria Russell.

I have heard a lot of buzz about this book on some of the other books & reading blogs that I follow, and thought I’d give it a try.  The novel tells the story of Earth’s first encounter with an alien species and the problems that arise from it.  I am looking forward to reading it after I complete the remainder of my ‘required reading for September.  I’ve knocked out the Lincoln & Vonnegut books already and it’s only the 6th of the month.  Frankenstein & Zen & the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance remain… wish me luck.

2 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    September 6, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Hey Jay! I had Sparrow on our bookshelf for a while until I took it off. Let me know what you think of it. I have not read this one, but read an historical fiction novel of hers called A Thread of Grace. It was about Italy during WWII. Very good!

    Like

  2. stentorpub said,

    September 7, 2010 at 6:28 am

    You know, I thought I remembered that being on our bookshelf, then I went to look for it, it wasn’t there. I thought I mint have confused it with another “Dale book.” From what I’ve read, it sounds like something I will really like.
    -Jay

    Like


Leave a Reply

