Finished Breakfast of Champions (the Vonnegut book, not a bowl of Wheaties)

I finished this book yesterday. (My fourth Vonnegut book to date) I must say that, despite its weirdness, I really enjoyed it. I particularly liked the fact that the author inserts himself into the book at a critical stage. This is not something one sees very often, although I do remember reading recently about a new(?) book where the main character somehow begins to realize he is only the creation of a writer and that his ‘world’ exists only in that person’s imagination. I seem to recall that he came to this realization when he heard/kept hearing a “scratching noise” during certain key events and the noise turns out to be the scribbling of the author’s pencil. Does this ring a bell with anybody? I’d sure like to know what book this is, as I am more interested in possibly reading it now.

Anyway, Breakfast of Champions is for the most part (one has to allow for all of KV’s digressions) about the collision course of two characters: the author Kilgore Trout and a used car salesman named Wayne Hoover. Hoover is somewhat mentally imbalanced to begin with but “goes off the deep end” after reading one of Kilgore’s stories that convinces him that he is the only creature on earth with free will and that all other people are merely “robots” made by “The Creator of the Universe” to test his behavior etc. As usual, Vonnegut uses this story frame as a vehicle for social commentary and for pointing out how flawed “civilization” really is. I found it very interesting. It’s a quick read too, like most of KV’s novels.

3 Comments

  1. Allie said,

    August 17, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I really do love Vonnegut, but wish I have read more of his books! This is one sitting on my shelves I just haven’t gotten to yet. I do love Kilgore Trout. I love how he pops up randomly!

    Like

  2. Melissa said,

    August 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I know Vonnegut’s writing doesn’t work for everyone, but I’ve always been a big fan. He had such a unique perspective of the world.

    Like

  3. stentorpub said,

    September 7, 2010 at 6:47 am

    @Melissa: Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂
    I’m becoming a fan of Vonnegut with the reading I’ve done recently. I also just finished Jailbird this past weekend. Once you “get used to” (if this is even possible) his unique style, I find him pretty easy to read.
    -Jay

    Like


Leave a Reply

