“Progress” Report

I finished my eighth “Civil War Book” of the year yesterday morning. I’ll post more about it later, but Killer Angels by Michael Shaara was quite good – blend of fiction and facts that tells the tale of the Battle of Gettysburg. My only concern is that, further down the road, I may have trouble distinguishing fact from fiction when remembering things about this battle (i.e. “did Lee really say that, or was that just a line from Killer Angels?, etc.).

I almost feel like I’ve spent the past few days in southeastern Pennsylvania, though, and some things from this book even invaded my dreams. I can’t say that I’m surprised it was awarded a Pulitzer Prize.

What’s up next? Well, I’ve already read my book club’s August book (The Boy in the Striped Pajamas) earlier this year and, though I’ll review it before my meeting, I won’t need to spend too much time on it. I’m on schedule for my P:CW reading, so I pretty much have the rest of August to “read whatever I want.” I may re-read Shakespeare’s The Tempest and participate in Allie’s read-along, as I think I have a few things I’d like to write about that play and my history with it. And, I feel like I may go on a kick of reading Kurt Vonnegut. I mentioned Slapstick in an earlier post, but I also bought Sirens of Titan yesterday, which I’ve always wanted to read, and I downloaded Breakfast of Champions to my nook last week. One good thing about Vonnegut’s books is that they’re generally shorter than most that I read, so why not knock out two or three of them by the end of the month?

What about you? Have you read any Vonnegut? Do you have any recommendations?

Well, sadly, my morning at the coffee shop is ending and I guess I’d better report to work on time. (damn rat race…) >

3 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    August 9, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Slapstick was the first Vonnegut book I ever read (read it in the late 80’s) then I read Cat’s Cradle about 5 years ago. I have a HUGE appreciation for him ever since I heard him speak in favor of Salmon Rushdie when The Satanic Verses first came out 20+ years ago. At the same time, for whatever reason, I’ve only managed to read two of his books.

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      August 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      Hi Dale,
      I finished Slapstick this afternoon, so we are currently tied at 3… 🙂
      -Jay

      Like

  2. Dale Barthauer said,

    August 9, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Oh wait! I read Slaughterhouse Five with my book group! Make that three books.

    Like


Leave a Reply

