Book Blogger Hop: July 30 – Aug 2

I discovered this gathering place for book bloggers today over at Crazy for Books

Here is the link to sign up for this event

Apparently, it’s a weekly deal, and all particpants are supposed to answer a common question each week, this week’s being: Who is your favorite new-to-you author so far this year?

That’s a tough one.  Let’s see.  Okay, I guess I’ll go with Margaret Mitchell since I finally read Gone With the Wind this year, making this famous author “New to Me”…  The author whose books I’ve enjoyed the most has been Stieg Larsson, but as a writer “he’s no Margaret Mitchell”…

If you’re visiting my blog as a result of the link at the Book Blogger Hop, Welcome!  I hope to discover many new and exciting blogs via this event.

4 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    August 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I’m going to have to read a few more of his works, but I would probably say Stephen King would be the answer to this question. Yes, I feared putting this out here as I would either a.) be asked “Where have you been for the last 35 years?” followed by a “and you call yourself a reader!” OR b.) be accused of being too “intellectual” to be interested in his works. Neither of which are really true. But I don’t have an answer as to why I haven’t read his works.

    What novels of his would you recommend, Jay? Hearts in Atlantis looks like it would be interesting.

    Like

  2. stentorpub said,

    August 5, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Hi Dale,
    Where have you been the last 35 years!?! 🙂

    Was the short story we read in the book club last month your first exposure to Stephen King? Oh, I just remembered that we also read The Green Mile, which I keep forgetting is King’s.

    Anyway, I’d highly recommend Hearts in Atlantis – it was one of my favorites, and not your ‘normal’ SK book (if there is such a thing). Another one I often recommend to people is Eyes of the Dragon, which is also outside of King’s normal range.

    Happy reading!

    -Jay

    Like

  3. stentorpub said,

    August 5, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Oh, I meant to mention also that the movie version of Hearts in Atlantis (with Anthony Hopkins) – though quite good – only covers one of the book’s three settings (if I remember the book correctly). So, if you’re expecting it to be like the movie, you’ll be surprised.

    Like

  4. Dale Barthauer said,

    August 5, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Never saw the movie. Although that brings up a good question. What are some of the best movie adaptations of books? Which are some of the worst?

    Like


Leave a Reply

