Gulliver’s Travels makes an Appearance on Jeopardy!

I was watching Jeopardy! last night, and there was a “Brit Lit” category in the double jeopardy round. The first ‘answer’ to be selected: “He visited the floating Island of Laputa on one of his many ‘travels’…”

OK, that was a bit of a softball and the first contestant to buzz in got it correct. I wonder though if it might have just been an educated guess due to the phrasing of the ‘answer’ (inclusion of ‘travels’) or the fact that Laputa sounds quite similar to Lilliputian, but either way it was good to see Mr. Swift find his way onto this popular program.

3 Comments

  1. sparksmarks99 said,

    July 18, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    One of the things I love most about being a reader is how after reading something you have a tendency to notice things like that everywhere. I’ll read about about say, India, and suddenly everywhere I turn I see references to India. Or purgatory after reading Dante. Or things like Jeopardy answers or quotes. I love seeing little connections like that.

    Like

  2. July 18, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Weird. I just started working on a new blog on WordPress today, and I guess I was still logged in through it instead of my actual working blog on Blogger. Anyway, it’s Lindsey over at Sparks’ Notes! Guess I’m going to have to keep that in mind or move my Blogger blog over to WordPress to avoid confusion.

    Like

  3. stentorpub said,

    July 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Hi Lindsay,

    I know exactly what you mean. That phenomenon is one of the reasons I love reading too. Similarly, I like how books start to become interrelated the more and more you read. I always talk about this with my book club, e.g. When we read The Story of Edgar Sawtelle last year, I said, “What other ‘dog books’ have we read?” 🙂

    It’s fun when you start to accumulate enough reading to start to make those connections.

    -Jay

    Like


Leave a Reply

