Started a New Book: The Passage by Justin Cronin

This book is currently #4 on the Best Seller list.  It was featured in yesterday’s Indianapolis Star’s book section, with an interesting article and short interview with the author.  It sounded intriguing so I went ahead and downloaded it to my nook®.  (That damn device is so ‘enabling’- it creates such an easy route for impulse buying that it will surely wreak havoc with my budget.).  I’ve read just over a hundred pages of it thus far (out of a whopping 836 pages) and I think I’m going to like it.  Chapter one was okay, introducing the “family history” of one of the main characters, but chapter two really sunk the hooks in deep with an (e-mail) epistolary novel type feel, with the emails coming from a person on an expedition in the Bolivian jungle which encounters, er, “difficulties…”

After that chapter though, the book has seemed to lapse into a laboriously long stretch of back story building.  I remain patient, though, and things are heating up again by around page 100.  Stay tuned.

Justin Cronin

There is also an interesting article from the New York Times about this book and author.

2 Comments

  1. September 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I enjoyed The Passage, but feel it’s a tad overrated. I guess that comes with the territory, no?

    http://chuckpalahniuk.net/reviews/the-passage

    http://thejamminjabber.com/2010/09/20/you-cant-spell-the-passage-without-ass-age/

    Like

  2. stentorpub said,

    September 21, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Thanks for your comment. I just read and enjoyed your review of the book as well. Most of what I have seen among the book blogging community has a similar “take” on the book.

    Like


Leave a Reply

