My Current “To be Read” (TBR) pile

Here’s what’s on my agenda for the next two months or so; probably in the order I’ll finish them.  As always, I’m accepting other recommendations…

1. The House Divides (I MUST finish this “Project: Civil War” book before the end of the month or I will be behind schedule for the first time this year)

2. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – less than 200 pages to go on this one, and I will finally be done with the “Millenium Series” – at least until the ghost writing begins

3. At Least in the City Someone Would Hear Me Scream. – My book club’s June Selection.  I have to read this before our meeting on June 24th…  Better get hoppin’

4. Gulliver’s Travels – Part I down, Parts II – IV to go

5. A Prayer for Owen Meany – Just bought this about a week ago.  Have been wanting to read it for a long time.  Now, someone in my club has also added it to our “Bookshelf” (list of eligible picks – it may or may not get picked, but I want to read it anyway)

6. 100 Years of Solitude – Have been wanting to read this ever since I read Love in the Time of Cholera a few years ago

7. The Antiquary – Book 3 of my “Sir Walter Scott Project”

8. New Moon – Book 2 of the Twilight Saga; may or may not continue there.  Haven’t decided 100% yet, but probably will continue.

What about you?  What’s on your TBR list?  Have you read any of mine?  Thumbs up/down/neutral?  Would love to hear about it…

5 Comments

  1. Dale Barthauer said,

    June 11, 2010 at 8:33 am

    You don’t need to be in a rush to read New Moon, but I guess I would ultimately recommend the series.

    I’m also getting ready to read In the City, At Least Someone Would Hear Me Screem.

    I’m finishing up Blink by Malcom Gladwell. At some point, I want to read The Tipping Point.

    I’d like to read The Idiot by Dostoevsky, but envision it taking a while.

    There are also some biographies I’d like to read:
    Johhny Cash
    St. Francis of Assisi
    St. Thomas Aquinas
    David Crosby
    Thelonious Monk

    Either the Lonesome Dove series or The Last Picture Show series by Larry McMurtry are on my list.

    I also might have to check out the Millenium Series.

    I also need to figure out how to underline titles.

    Like

  2. Allie said,

    June 11, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I might be hosting a 100 Years of Solitude read-along next month so you should definitely participate if I do!

    Like

  3. stentorpub said,

    June 11, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Dale: I think you’ve had some of those biographies on your TBR list for awhile, haven’t you? 🙂 I think I remember you mentioning the St. Francis & St. Thomas ones before. I suspect a biography of Johnny Cash couldn’t be anything but fascinating. I’ve gotten more into his music the past few years too, so all the more reason. By the way – you may already be aware, but his daughter, Roseanne, fairly recently had a CD released called (I think) “The List” which is supposedly her versions of a bunch of songs her dad thought were among ‘the essential country music songs’. Anyway, I have the CD, and I recommend it. Oh, and as far as underlining titles, I think formatting options are pretty limited when you’re just making a ‘comment’ rather than a post. Heck, it took me awhile before I discovered WordPress’s ‘double secret’ kitchen sink toolbar… I’ll let you know if I make any discoveries.

    Allie: I would almost certainly participate if you did a 100YOS read-along. I wonder, have you also read Love in the Time of Cholera? As I posted, my book club read that a few years ago and it was one of the more ‘unanimously liked’ (“more unanimous”?? – come on, Jay – this is why I can’t be a writer!) books that we’ve read. It definitely was one of my personal top 5 favorites of the 40+ books we’ve read thus far.

    Like

  4. Ann Marie said,

    June 13, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Your TBR list is much more ambitious than mine! I have been reading more “heavy” books recently and not as many of my “light” books. Here is what I have on my list:

    1. At Least in the City (for book club)
    2. Still Life With Crows – Lincoln Child/Douglas Preston
    3. A Prayer for Owen Meany (which I read 10 years ago when the movie came out but don’t remember very well so I want to reread it to discuss with you)
    4. A Lisa Scottoline book (but I can’t remember which one I am on)

    My reading habits are far different than yours and the other people who comment on your blog. You (and it appears most of the people commenting) seek out books that will teach you or make you think about deeper issues. You want books which will challenge you. I think of it as being “intellectual” reading.

    I, on the other hand, spend my day reading, writing, and analyzing complex documents. At the end of the day, I need a break. I need to shut my mind off. That is why I read. I can get lost in a book and forget about everything else. Most of the books I read often involve police or lawyers solving crimes or searching for serial killers. They are totally unrealistic but as long as they have a good story line and a plausible ending, I enjoy them. I am always looking for new authors and when I find one, I generally read all their books in the order written (in case there are recurring characters). I don’t need a book to make me think. To me, what makes a great author is one that has a creative story line, interesting characters and makes me want to finish to see how the story ends. That is why I read more “light” books than “heavy” books.

    If you ask me whether James Patterson is a great author, my answer would be that he used to be a great author. His first 10 or so books had interesting story lines and characters along with plausible endings. (Now that he has started mass producing books, his characters aren’t as interesting and his books have become too “cookie cutter”) Does what he writes constitute great literature, no.

    Books are no different than movies. There are classics such as Casablanca and Gone With the Wind. And then there are movies like Caddyshack and Vacation. Are these the same caliber of movies, no. But they are still great movies. We need both types of movies and both types of books. Each person can choose his or her personal mix of those types of books and movies.

    Like

  5. stentorpub said,

    June 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I have no problem with anything you said, Ann Marie, although I suspect you give me too much credit for ‘intellectual reading.’ A lot of the books I’ve read the past year or so have been ‘important books’ but at the same time were diverting, old-fashioned ‘good story’ reads. Like Uncle Tom’s Cabin and Gone With the Wind, for example. I think they both would meet your criteria and yet are ‘culturally significant’ (if I may use such a haughty-sounding phrase).

    Another indication that my ‘intellectual reading’ often loses out to more ‘fluffy’ reading is the phenomenon that – when I have a couple books going at once – I almost always, when trying to decide which to read, take the path of least resistance and choose the fluffy one. This is why it takes me so long to finish some of the ‘classics’ I read. Maybe this just means I’m a bit lazy. I freely admit my guilt in that department.

    I’m about half way through the At Least in the City Someone Would Hear Me Scream book. I’m a little disappointed thus far, although it is often funny and witty. I am reminded of a book I read a couple years ago by Bill Bryson (A Walk in the Woods) which features an author with similar motives to Rouse’s ‘getting back to nature’ theme, but in my opinion was a much more enjoyable book – and also very funny.

    Like


Leave a Reply

