New iPhone App: FreeAudioBooks

Anyone else have this?  I just downloaded today (like the ‘Freebooks’ app, the books are free, but the app is $1.99) and am intrigued.  As a test, I downloaded “The Raven” and The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin.  The reader on the former wasn’t very good.  The latter was ok, but I’m not sure the app allows me download more than one chapter at a time if I’m only on the 3G network as opposed to WiFi or the internet.  Any experienced users of this app out there?  I’d love to hear from you.

2 Comments

  1. May 5, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    I really like it. There is a free version but it requires an internet connection to to listen to the audiobooks. Since I use it on my iPod, I don’t like keeping my WiFi on because it drains my battery (and I can’t always get WiFi). The paid app allows me to download and store the audio books and listen to them offline. Some recordings are better than others, there are a few that are just terrible. But it’s easily one of my favorite apps. I’ve caught up on many classics while I’m too busy to hold (and give my attention to) a book.

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      May 6, 2010 at 5:10 am

      Thanks for sharing your comments, Jessica. I’m looking forward to exploring it in more detail this weekend. Also, I actually use the “Freebooks” app quite a bit, stealing litte chunks of reading time here and there, waiting in line, etc., etc.

      -Jay

      Like


Leave a Reply

