Just bought another book via my nook® reader

I just downloaded Beastly by Alex Flinn.  I think I am going to make this my next read.  I need to read something ‘modern’ after trudging through Sir Walter Scott (but I still love ya, Wally!) the past few weeks.

Here’s the blurb from the B&N ebook overview:

“A beast. Not quite a wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright – a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way.  The place is New York City.  The time is now.  It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever – ruined – unless I can  break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me.  Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you.  I’ll tell ou how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life.  And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly… beastly.”

This story is also coming out as a movie this summer.

The movie trailer reminded me somewhat of The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (I’m working on a post on that book and hope to have it up soon…)

4 Comments

  1. Jade said,

    April 25, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I literally just downloaded that on my kindle as well! Not sure how fast I’ll get to it because I have about 25 other books in line before that one, but funny that we both downloaded it. P.s. I’m interested in your nook. How do you like it? Did you research the differences between the nook, e-reader and kindle before you bought it. I want to be jealous of it, but I also love my kindle so I’m not sure that is the right emotion to have. lol

    Like

  2. stentorpub said,

    April 26, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I finished this book (already) during my lunch hour today. It’s not very long and reads very fast. Written for a somewhat younger audience than me, *ahem* but I liked it a lot anyway. A great version of the Cupid & Psyche/Beauty & the Beast myth/fairy tale.

    I’m lukewarm about my nook. I didn’t do a lot of research before buying other than – perhaps mistakenly – trusting the opinion of an IT friend of mine who said it was “the best one” out there. As a reader, it’s fine, and I’ve already read a half-dozen books on it. It fails as a ‘passage highlighter’ and ‘note adder’, however, as it is really a painstaking to navigate the cursor to where you want to highlight or add a note (same for looking up words in its dictionary – which it also occasionally fails to find). Perhaps future updates to the software will help these things, but I’m not holding my breath.

    One particularly irritating problem I’ve run into (just once) is that a book I downloaded was fine for the first two chapters then all of a sudden the next chapter was ALL CAPS. I THINK WE KNOW HOW IRRITATING THAT IS. Anyway, I plan to complain at the location I bought the nook at and demand my money back for that one.

    Conclusion: Being jealous of my nook is definitely not the right emotion to have. I may be jealous of your kindle instead, however.

    Like

  3. Jade said,

    April 29, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    In that case sir, you should be jealous of my Kindle because it has none of those problems. But as any electronic, it comes with its own set of personality problems. It will randomly shut off sometimes and go forward or backward a few pages and despite the rumor that it “downloads” fast…it does if you have optimum network bars at all times. Otherwise it takes a little longer than “instantly.” But I honestly do love it. But we both know that neither the Kindle nor the Nook can replace the feel of a physical book in the hand.

    Like

    • stentorpub said,

      May 1, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      Yes, we do both know that.

      Looks like I will have to wait until I buy an iPad to make you jealous of my e-reading… 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

