Betrayed by my e-Reader!

There I was, cruising through my copy of Sir Walter Scott’s Guy Mannering that I had downloaded to my nook®, thinking “Wow, I’m about 3/4 of the way through this book at last!” only to discover later – while looking at the copy I have on my Free Books app on my iPhone, that it is over twice as long and that my nook® copy is only of “Volume one”.  Son of a…   (And yes, I admit, I was wondering how SWS was going to “wrap this up” in 50 more pages…)

Oh well, the good news is that I have finally “gotten into” this book, and am making real progress,  AND I’m loving it.  Scott is a tremendous writer and is a pleasure to read.  Of course, all the dialogue portrayed in the Scottish ‘brogue’ (is that usage correct, or should it be used only with “Irish”?) is sometimes difficult for me to get through, but that’s a small price to pay to be able to enjoy the rest.

And Meg Merrilies – what a great character.  More on her later…  Coincidental Note: Was reading some financial news today on Bloomberg.com and learned that the current President of Brazil’s Central Bank is named Henrique Meirelles… hopefully he will not curse their monetary policy!

Leave a Reply

